Remember back in 2014 when Wout van Aert beat all the Elite favorites as a U23 in Koksijde to win the UCI Cyclocross World Cup?

Today, Van Aert (Jumbo Visma) continued his winning ways in Koksijde, beating specialists on a different bike to win the 2020 Belgian Time Trial National Championships.

This time in Koksijde, Van Aert started as the favorite and didn’t have to worry about getting the holeshot.

Van Aert started last and flew over the 41.6km course in a time of 50 minutes and 10 seconds.

If we did our math right, that’s 49.8 kph, or 30.9 mph. Try doing that for even a minute!

Van Aert beat Victor Campenaerts (NTT Pro Cycling), the current hour record holder, by 30 seconds. Frederik Frison (Lotto Soudal) was third, 1:17 back.

With the victory, he continued to steamroll the restarted 2020 road season and defended his 2019 Belgian Time Trial National Championship he won in Middelkerke.

Yes, once again Van Aert somehow took the victory and achieved such speeds without the stopping power of disc brakes.