After updating its Fan Code of Conduct to include prohibiting fans from discriminating against racers due to gender identity (h/t Bicycling), USA Cycling hosted its first Non-Binary Cyclocross National Championship in Hartford. USA Cycling recalls its historic event:

From the start, the race was a battle between Summer Newlands (Portland, Ore.; Team S&M) and Kristin Sundquist (Burlington, Vt.; Green Mountain CX), with Newlands eventually extending their lead to almost a minute.

After crossing the line in first, Newlands was named as one of the first non-binary national champions in the world. Henrietta Watts (Bellingham, Wash.; Breakfast Racing Team) secured the bronze medal.

“It’s great to see this category represented on a national level. For a long time, I’ve felt like it’s hard to come out to these races and feel represented,” said Newlands after the race. “In the future, I’m working on getting more access to more trans and non-binary athletes. BRAP Biking Club on Instagram is a team where trans and non-binary athletes, particularly in the northwest, can come make a group and try to just get people to races however possible.”

See the full results for the race below.

2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals Hartford, CT Results: Non-Binary

1442Summer NEWLANDSTeam S&M34:29:003
2441Kristin SUNDQUISTGreen Mountain CX35:16:003
3443Henrietta WATTSBreakfast Racing Team47:43:003
4444Sam HANSENAnn Arbor Velo Club40:58:002

See all our 2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals coverage here.

Win a custom-built-for-you Chris Sallen Cycles fillet brazed or lugged frame, Ibis mountain bike wheels, a Marin Pine Mountain 29er, Ritchey WCS cockpit, Coefficient Cycling handlebars and much more in the silent auction fundraiser.