Mike Birner (Ben's Performance Bikes) shows off the MABRAcross jersey he won in the masters elite category. © Bill Schieken/

by Bill Schieken

WASHINGTON, D.C., December 13, 2010—After ten action-packed events of hard racing, drama and an all-around good time, it’s time to close the books on the 2010 MABRAcross series. Beginning with the Ed Sander Memorial Cyclocross in Buckeystown, Maryland, and closing with the MABRAcross Championship in Taneytown, Maryland, a record number of cyclocrossers from the Mid-Atlantic region and beyond pinned on numbers and toed the line for MABRAcross events.

In 2010, MABRAcross introduced the Verge Sport Leaders Jersey to the series. Showcasing the Colby Waller designed MABRAcross logo, this distinct kit quickly became a sought after prize in eligible categories. MABRAcross also teamed with to give the ridership up-to-date points standings.  Now that series points standings are final, MABRAcross would like to congratulate the top finishers in all points categories.Haymarket Bicycles/SEAVS teammates Jared Nieters and Patty Buerkle finished the season atop the MABRAcross series standings. Nieters and teammate Joe Dombrowski won eight of the ten MABRAcross events, trading the Verge Sport leader jersey throughout the season. Buerkle took five victories and landed on the second podium spot for another three. Elizabeth Harlow (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes) finished behind Buerkle in the jersey chase.

The masters elite category came down to the wire with Michael Birner (Ben’s Performance Bikes) holding onto the jersey after swapping it with Kris Auer (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes) the previous weekend. Ron Huebner (Evolution) completed a successful MABRAcross campaign taking the masters elite 45+ title over his teammate Randall Root and Marc Gwadz (DCMTB). Fred Wittwer (ALAN) held off Jim Bronson (Patapsco Bike and Sport) and Peter Czapiewski (AMVC) to take home the 55+ crown.

In the 3/4 field, Andrey Doroshenko (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes) finished his cat 3 career with a victory and the Verge Sport leaders jersey. He will join runner-up Adam Williams (Winchester Wheelmen) and third-place finisher Sean O’Donnell (TOMS Shoes p/b Kindhuman Sports) in the elite races next season.

In the women’s cat 3 field, Katy Curran (Evolution) took the top spot with a wide margin over runner-up Esther Schaftel (Adventures for the Cure) and Ilana Knopf (DCMTB). Zoe Loversky finished first in the junior women (15-18) field and Brooke Seibert took second. Svetlana Mack took the junior women (10-14) series followed by Avy Rohr, Shaina Adler, Evie Wolfe and Anastasiya Mack.

The masters 3/4 series came down to the wire with placement in the final race crucial to the overall standings. When the dust cleared, Matt Carroll (Evolution) took first place over Thori Wolfe (Route1Velo-Arrow Bicycle) and Eric Sloman (NCVC). Wolfe also took home the 3/4 45+ title followed by Scott Stahl (SEAVS) and Sloman.

Artemis gave a glimpse into the future for MABRAcross by sweeping the junior open (15-18) category. Val Etobayev finished the season in the top spot followed by teammates Peter Bond and Michael Better. In the junior men (10-14), Tanner Browne (Bike Doctor) took the top spot followed by Jake Thompson (Squadra Coppi) and Nolan Yager (Artemis).

C3-Athletes Serving Athletes finished the series as top team followed by Haymarket Bicycles-SEAVS and Adventures for the Cure.

Complete points standings are available at For more information on the MABRAcross series, please visit