by Johnson, Virostko, Getchell, et al.


Card and Halloran Take OH State Championship Jerseys

Conshohocken, PA, USA:  Thanksgiving weekend saw one of the largest Elite fields of the year in the Zipp OVCX Tour presented by Papa John’s. Thirty Elite Men from seven states lined up for the start of the Buckingham Financial John Bryan Classic, which also served as the Ohio State Championships. The course looked to be very fast, but had quite a few greasy corners and single track to keep riders honest.

The race stayed together for the first lap or two, with nobody making any moves. Finally Johnathan Card started it off, putting in some efforts at the front which made the selection. Card stayed at the front and made the race hard for the five that remained in the lead group. Virginia’s Greg Wittwer (ALAN North America) was moving to the front when he went down in a slick corner (tire selection played a role through the corners). Indiana’s Josh Johnson (DRT Racing) was the next to attack. “I knew sooner or later I was going to have to make my move, but I didn’t want to go too soon,” explained Johnson after the race. “When I went, Mitchell Kersting (Bob’s Red Mill) came with me and later counterattacked and gapped me. That left me to chase with 2 or 3 to go. I made the connection going into the bell lap. With half a lap left, we were doing a 180 down-and-up turn. Unfortunately, Mitchell got caught up in the tape, an official was fixing the tape when it happened, and I went around on the outside. I was able to hold him off until the end and take the ‘W’. I want to thank the promoter and all those that made the race possible. It’s a great venue!”  Jonathan Card’s early efforts netted him a third place overall and the Ohio State Championship as the best-placed Ohio resident.

The Women’s race, though not quite as deep as the men, still had representation from all of the OVCX states, as well as far away Washington DC. Leah Halloran (Spin/Second Sole) took an early lead with Alderfer Bergen’s Nikki Dallaire closing in on her wheel. Dallaire jumped away midway into the second lap by bunny hopping a fallen tree. The Kentuckian sped away from Halloran and never looked. Behind the leaders Amanda Virostko (Shamrock Cycles/Bio-Wheels) played some cat and mouse for second place. Virostko eventually overtook Halloran only to be passed back minutes later. The Indiana rider never caught back on to Halloran, who took second overall and the Ohio State Championship. Katie Arnold held fourth position the first two laps before being overtaken by Washington DC’s Erin Silliman (Alan North America), Bridgett Donovan-Billiter (Trek Store Cincinnati /Seven Cycles) and Gerry Schulze (Bio-Wheels/Reece Campbell Racing) who finished fourth through sixth respectively.

Nikki Dallaire has proven to be dominant this autumn despite having to come back from very serious injuries after being run over by a car earlier this year. A measure of just how dominant Dallaire has been is that, even though she won, this week’s race will count as one of her drop races in the points calculation toward the Zipp OVCX presented by Papa John’s season championship.  The season ends this coming weekend in Zipp Speed Weaponry’s hometown of Indianapolis, Indiana with a doubleheader weekend.  The beginning of the end will be the St. Mary’s Child Center Cyclocross in Fort Benjamin Harrison State Park on Saturday, December 4 for the benefit of disadvantaged children.  The weekend, and the 2010 Zipp OVCX presented by Papa John’s season, will culminate with the double-points Brookside Cup at Indianapolis’ Brookside Park.  Additional information about the Zipp OVCX Indianapolis Double Cross Weekend can be found at

Full Results

Elite Men

1 823 Josh Johnson DRT Racing
2 801 mitchell kersting Bob’s Red Mill p/b Focus Bikes
3 800 Jonathan Card
4 804 Matthew Weeks Team Lake Effect/Bike Authority
5 825 Greg Wittwer ALAN North America Cycling Team
6 817 Ernesto Marenchin
7 826 Noah Metzler
8 830 Eric Anderson
9 811 John Proppe Lake Effect Racing
10 802 Rob Kendall Bob’s Red Mill
11 816 Chris Nevitt Bob’s Red Mill p/b FOCUS
12 820 Zachary Edwards DRT Racing
13 824 ryan gamm Kenda Pro Cycling pb Gear Grinder
14 821 Jonathan Dy Ohio Orthopedic/BikeSource
15 812 Adam Rodkey Speedway Wheelmen
16 827 Jay Molez
17 809 Tony Marut Team Lake Effect Racing
18 810 Greg Flecher Carbon Racing
19 813 Michael Chewning Team Hungry!
20 829 Anthony Viton
21 828 Josh Prater
22 807 Gef Moy
23 803 garth prosser Cannondale Factory Racing
24 814 James Billiter BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing
25 808 Spencer Hackett B1 Bicycles
26 818 Gregg Shanefelt ZWS/Cyclesport
27 72 Matt Baroli Wolverines/ACFSTORES.COM
28 822 Michael O’Shaugnnessy B1 Bicycles
29 815 Brian Nieport Reser Bicycle Outfitters

Elite Women

1 461 AnnaJean Dallaire Alderfer Bergen
2 463 Leah Halloran Spin/ Second Sole
3 474 Amanda Virostko Shamrock Cycles/Biowheels Racing
4 473 Erin Silliman ALAN North America Cycling Team
5 464 Bridget Donovan Trek Store Cincinnati/ Seven Cycles
6 465 Gerry Schulze BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing
7 468 Katie Arnold Echelon
8 467 Samantha Brode (House) Carbon Racing
9 469 elizabeth cobb
10 470 Julie Lewis Sroka Lake Effect Racing
11 472 Bridget Sempsrott BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing
12 462 Jennifer Peters Jeni’s Icecream/Team Awesome
13 466 Amy Kulesza Team Awesome/Jeni’s
14 475 Cooper Cambjorn