Van der Haar started in the leader's skinsuit, and he would keep it at day's end © Bart Hazen

Van der Haar started in the leader's skinsuit, and he would keep it at day's end © Bart Hazen

by Bart Hazen

European Champion Lars van der Haar won the 2010 U23 Superprestige in Gieten, besting Vincent Baestaens and Tijmen Eising in the final sprint. Micki van Empel and Marcel Meisen finished fourth and fifth, while Superprestige leader Jim Aernouts finished in ninth and lost his lead to van der Haar by one point.

Due to the frozen course the race looked more like a road criterium than cyclocross. About 30 riders still had a chance to win the halfway through the race, among them  Mike Teunissen, Emiel Dolfsma, Gert-Jan Bosman, Corné van Kessel, Vinnie Braet, Wietse Bosmans and David van der Poel.

Despite several attacks, the first real split came in the final lap due to an acceleration of Tijmen Eising. It looked like Eising was on his way to victory, but it slipped away in a corner. A small group sprinted for the win with Lars van der Haar wining the race by a bike length over his rivals.

“It was easy to stay in front of the group. I knew I was the fastest of them so it was quite easy to win”, said van der Haar. “I don’t love this course, despite the fact that I won this race once in my junior period. It’s very difficult to make a difference on this fast course due to many riders showing up in the lead group you normally don’t see.”

“I don’t know if I would have lost to Lars if I hadn’t shot out of my pedal”, said Baestaens. “It was a difficult race due to the large group in front. It was constantly a change of position on this fast course. But I am satisfied with this result.”

“I took too many risks in the final lap and slipped away”, said Eising. “I gave 100% until the finish but I ended up as third. I am satisfied with this after a difficult season thus far. ”

Van den Brand Takes Win in Women’s Race

Van Paasen leads van den Brand and the rest of the women's field © Bart Hazen

Van Paasen leads van den Brand and the rest of the women's field © Bart Hazen

Daphny van den Brand ( won the women’s race in Gieten, finishing ahead of Sanne van Paassen. Pavla Havlikova completed the podium. Sanne Cant, Sabrina Stultiens, Arenda Grimberg, Reza Hormes, Joyce Vanderbeken, Nikoline Hansen and Martina Mikulaskova rounded off the top 10.

From the start van Paassen, van den Brand, Cant, Havlikova and Stultiens broke clear from the field. Cant and Stultiens were the first to drop off. Three riders turned into the final lap together, and Van den Brand handled the frozen and slippery course best, winning with a five second advantage on her compatriot. Czech Havlikova finished in third and was very delighted with her first podium of the season.

Czechs Dominate in Junior’s Race

In the Junior’s race the win went to Czech Jakub Skala. Skala, who was also the best in Contern a few weeks ago, was fastest in the sprint over his compatriot Vojtech Nipl. Dutch Jeroen Meijers won the sprint of the chasing group for third. Diether Sweeck, who finished in sixth, takes over the lead in the Juniors Superprestige Series from his twin brother Laurens. Laurens finished in 17th one day after his big win in the Koksijde World Cup. The two Czech riders dominated the race from the start.  Mathieu van der Poel took his 17th season win in Gieten by winning the race for beginners.

U23 Photo Gallery:

Women’s Photo Gallery:

Juniors Photo Gallery:

Women’s Results:
1. Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 38:30
2. Sanne van Paassen (Ned) 0:05
3. Pavla Havlikova (Tsj) 0:27
4. Sanne Cant 0:41;
5. Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) 0:46;
6. Arenda Grimberg (Ned);
7. Reza Hormes (Ned);
8. Joyce Vanderbeken;
9. Nikoline Hansen (Den);
10. Martina Mikulaskova (Tsj);
11. Evy Kuijpers (Ned);
12. Helena van Leijen (Ned);
13. Ilona Meter (Ned);
14. Iris Ockeloen (Ned);
15. Lizzy Witlox (Ned);
16. Margriet Kloppenburg (Ned);
17. Lana Verberne (Ned);
18. Lotto Eikelenboom (Ned);
19. Maud Kaptheijns (Ned);
20. Julia Schobben (Ned)

U23 Results:

1 Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team 0:47:50
2 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
3 Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor
4 Micki van Empel (Ned)
5 Marcel Meisen (Ger)
6 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
7 Corné van Kessel (Ned)
8 Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
9 Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
10 Tim Merlier (Bel)
11 Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
12 Michael Boroš (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tábor
13 Ole Quast (Ger) Stevens Racing Team
14 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
15 Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
16 Twan van den Brand (Ned)
17 Kobus Hereijgers (Ned)
18 Kenneth Hansen (Den)
19 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)
20 Jens Adams (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
21 Michiel van der Heijden (Ned)
22 Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
23 Max Walsleben (Ger)
24 David van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus
25 Tomáš Paprstka (Cze) Scott Cycling Team Kolín
26 Jelle Brackman (Bel) MTB dreamteam 0:00:35
27 Sven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:00:45
28 Karel Hník (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:50
29 Angelo De Clercq (Bel) 0:00:55
30 Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team 0:01:05
31 Maurits Lammertink (Ned) 0:01:10
32 Radek Polnicky (Cze) 0:01:20
33 Jirí Polnický (Cze) Sunweb – Revor 0:01:30
34 Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:35
35 Jan Nesvadba (Cze) KC Kooperativa Sg Jablonec N.N 0:01:40
36 Jonas Guddal (Den) 0:02:35
37 Geert van deer Horst (Ned) 0:03:10
38 Bart Barkhuis (Ned) WV Meteoor Assen-Roden 0:03:50
39 Allan Veenstra (Ned) 0:04:00
40 Peio Goikoetxea (Spa) -2laps
41 Lars Maris (Ned) -3laps
42 Erwin Ketellapper (Ned) -5laps

Junior’s Results:

1 Jakub Skala (Cze) 0:41:30
2 Vojtech Nipl (Cze)
3 Jeroen Meijers (Ned) 0:00:15
4 Stan Godrie (Ned)
5 Yannick Eckmann (Ger)
6 Diether Sweeck (Bel)
7 Xabier Goikoetxea (Spa)
8 Jaap de Man (Ned)
9 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned)
10 Twan Brusselman (Ned)
11 Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) 0:00:35
12 Tim Ariesen (Ned) 0:00:40
13 Jonathan Lastra (Spa)
14 Tomas Medek (Cze)
15 Pjotr van Beek (Ned)
16 Daniel Peeters (Bel)
17 Laurens Sweeck (Bel)
18 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel)
19 Julian Lehmann (Ger) 0:01:30
20 Toon Wouters (Bel) 0:01:45
21 Koen Weijers (Ned) 0:02:05
22 Felix Rieckmann (Ger)
23 Steffen Müller (Ger)
24 Yannick Gruner (Ger) 0:02:35
25 Erik Kramer (Ned) 0:02:40
26 Xabier Rodriguez (Spa)
27 Ondsrej Louvar (Cze)
28 Jan Brezna (Cze)
29 Tomas Bohota (Cze)
30 Dennis Eikelenboom (Ned)
31 Thybo Notredame (Bel)
32 Johannes Cords (Ned)
33 Emiel Arvid Olsen (Den)
34 Max Lindenau (Ger)
35 Jonathan Bilbao (Spa)
36 Bryan Borowski (Ned)
37 Bram Merlier (Bel)
38 Marco Brienesse (Ned)
39 Patrick Mulder (Ned)
40 Lucas Carstensen (Ger)
41 Sebastian Beyer (Ger)
42 Silvio Herklotz (Ger)
43 Martijn Dijkstra (Ned)
44 Stephan Biesheuvel (Ned) -2laps
45 Bert Wienia (Ned)
46 Maarten van der Veeken (Ned)
47 Sjors Dekker (Ned)
48 Richard Hol (Ned)
49 Nicky Gieskens (Ned)
50 Tristan Timmermans (Ned)
51 Rick Nobel (Ned) -3laps
52 Rob Nijmeijer (Ned)