For full coverage, schedules and information on the 2012 Cyclocross National Championships at Badger Prairie County Park in Madison, Wisconsin, visit our 2012 Cyclocross National Championships homepage.

Logan Owen was in command the entire race to win his seventh straight national championship. ©Tim Westmore

Logan Owen was in command the entire race to win his seventh straight national championship. ©Tim Westmore

VERONA, WISCONSIN—Logan Owen (Redline) won easily today in Badger Prairie Park for his seventh consecutive Junior National Championship. That win puts his streak on even footing with Katie Compton, who races tomorrow. “I want her to win,” an ebullient Owen said at the finish line, “but now I kinda want her to lose, too.” Other than his very first try in 2004, when he finished second in what was his very first ’cross race, Owen hasn’t been anywhere but on the top step at Nationals, and he said he was “pretty confident” going into the race today. Owen will return to Nationals next year for a shot at an unprecedented sweep of all the Junior categories: 10-12 through 17-18.

Seven in a row: Logan Owen (Redline) wins the Junior Men 17-18 in his first try. © Tim Westmore

Seven in a row: Logan Owen (Redline) wins the Junior Men 17-18 in his first try. © Tim Westmore

Owen’s victory was never in doubt, as the Redline rider (and Issue 13 cover guy) attacked after going through the holeshot in fifth. His acceleration was obviously faster than any other competitor, and he established a gap no one could cross. Drew Dillman (Red Zone Cycling), in his last race as a Junior, posed the biggest threat to Owen but never factored after crashing near the pits. “I never felt good…I went down a few times,” a muted Dillman said at the finish after taking fourth place. Dillman, a high school senior, is hoping to attend either Marian University or Lees-McRae College, both cycling powerhouses.

Tobin Ortenblad leads Cypress Gorry in the battle for second. Junior Men 17-18, 2012 Cyclocross National Championships. © Amy Dykema

Tobin Ortenblad leads Cypress Gorry in the battle for second. © Amy Dykema

Behind the, battle for second shaped up to be a tight battle between Cypress Gorry (Whole Athlete), who we profiled at EuroCross Camp, and Tobin Ortenblad (Cal Giant), once the two passed a discouraged Dillman. Gorry attacked the final climb, passing Ortenblad, but entering into the final pavement finish, the bigger Cal Giant rider sprinted past for the silver.

Owen will head back to Europe to prepare for the World Championships at the end of January. Dillman will be there too, but this time as Owen’s teammate on the US squad.

Full Results beneath Videos; Stay tuned for more Photos

Photo Gallery by Amy Dykema:

Photo Gallery by Andrew Yee:

Logan Owen Interview:
[youtube sQfgRDxZJyI 580 380]

Tobin Ortenblad Interview:
[youtube m_onyeEfFs8 580 380]

See all of Cyclocross Magazine’s 2012 USA Cycling National Championships video interviews here!


1Logan OWENBremerton, WA93Team Redline
2Tobin ORTENBLADSantacruz, CA88California Giant Cycling/California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
3Richard Cypress GORRYPayson, AZ70Whole Athlete/Whole Athlete-Specialized
4Andrew DILLMANFairdale, KY59Red Zone Cycling
5Curtis WHITEDelanson, NY94Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team Inc.
6Zane GODBYLouisville, CO67Clif Bar Development Cross Team
7Nathaniel MORSECohasset, MA66Cyclocrossworld/Cannondale Cyclocrossworld
8Jordan CULLENHudson, WI64Clif Bar Development Cross Team
9Stephen BASSETTKnoxville, TN91OCD Cycling/Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross
10Samuel O'KEEFEBaltimore, MD81Charm City Cycling LLC
11Luke HALEYLouisville, KY54Red Zone Cycling
12Lionel ROCHELEAUWaukesha, WI73Racers Against Childhood Caner
13Spencer DOWNINGBoulder, CO76Clif Bar Development Cross Team
14Chase DICKENSMount Airy, NC82
15Ansel DICKEYTruro, MA79Woodstock Bicycle Club/Killington Mountain School Cycling Team
16Dag ANDERSONBridgewater, NJ57Mid-Atlantic Cycling Club
17Ian MCPHERSONBoulder, CO71Boulder Junior Cycling
18Nathan LABECKIMilwaukee, WI84ISCorp Cycling Team
19Zack GOULDBoulder, CO68Clif Bar Development Cross Team
20Colin DUNLAPBend, OR98Bend Endurance Academy
21Zachary BENDERGlen Rock, NJ95Mid-Atlantic Cycling Club/Specialized - Rising STARS p/b Bicycling
22Samuel DOBROZSILoveland, OH77Queen City Wheels
23Nolan TANKERSLEYErwin, TN62Tri Cities Road Club
24Nick DIETRICHProspect, KY53Red Zone Cycling
25Kyle MILLERHarleysville, PA74Team CF/Team CF-Elite
26Christopher OSBORNEMequon, WI63ISCorp Cycling Team
27Andris DELINSMinneapolis, MN56Gopher Wheelmen
28Joshua KEENERAlbuquerque, NM87Get Out! New Mexico
29Nolan MCQUEENLouisville, KY86Red Zone Cycling
30Andrew BAILEYPiney Flats, TN97Tri Cities Road Club/MSG Cyclocross
31Earl GAGEAlbuquerque, NM65Goathead Jr. Devo
32Daniel SANTOSLouisville, KY51Red Zone Cycling
33John MOSBYGurnee, IL61Higher Gear- Gear Head Cyclocross Team
34Maxwell ACKERMANNWhitefish Bay, WI55ISCorp Cycling Team
35Brendan RHIMNorwich, VT90Woodstock Bicycle Club/Killington Mountain School Cycling Team
36Ezra WARDPACKARDLake Geneva, WI85
37Colin CATLINArden Hills, MN72Gopher Wheelmen
38Bill MULLIGANLake Mills, WI89Great Dane Velo Club (GDVC)
39David HARTStanthonyvillage, MN60Gopher Wheelmen/County Cycles
40Perry LEYSENSJohnston, IA58Racers Against Childhood Caner/Team Geargrinder
41Noah STAMSTAWaunakee, WI69Brazen Dropouts
42Reece OLESONJordan, MN96Angry Catfish
43Matt SCHAUPPWatsonville, CA92
DNFTom GOGUENHopedale, MA52Team CF
DNFCasey WILLIAMSBig Bear City, CA83Whole Athlete/Whole Athlete-Specialized
DNFKellen MULFORDGrayslake, IL78Higher Gear- Gear Head Cyclocross Team
DNFMatthew KOSLOSKEGrafton, WI80ISCorp Cycling Team

The Hype: In the Junior men 17-18 year old race, Logan Owen (Redline), fresh from his trip to Europe with the Euro Cross Camp, will be the rider to beat. Not only has he won the National Championships an impressive six times, but this season he also sealed the overall title for the Exergy US Gran Prix of Cyclocross for Elite Juniors. Hoping to steel Owen’s glory are Drew Dillman (Bob’s Red Mill), and Zane Godby (Clif Bar Development Team), who took second and third overall in the USGP series. As the highest finishing rider from 2010’s 17-18 nationals, in which he took third, Dillman stands as Owen’s main rival – the pair also recently placed fifth and sixth, with Owen ahead, at World Cup Heusden-Zolder Juniors race. Will Dillman’s extra year in the 17-18 category be enough to stop Owen’s streak?

Also looking to make the podium are Cypress Gorry (Whole Athlete-Specialized) and Sam O’Keefe (Charm City), who last year placed fourth and sixth, respectively. Zack Gould (Clif Bar Development Team), Nate Morse (, and Curtis White (Hot Tubes) all made last year’s top five in the 15-16 category, and will be hoping to make fireworks in their freshman attempt.

Keep up to date on all of the action at 2012 Cyclocross Nationals on Cyclocross Magazine’s 2012 Cyclocross National Championships homepage.