It’s almost time for the fun to begin: the 2010 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships. We’ll have constant coverage right throughout the event right here, both streaming video and live text for the Elite men’s and women’s races, so get ready to join us for the fun if you can’t make the event. This year’s event is the longest ever, starting with racing on Wednesday, but for the first time in recent years, it may not be bigger, with less riders registered than last year. (With race-day registration available, that might change.) This is the last year it will be hosted by Bend, Oregon, as the event moves to Madison, Wisconsin for January 2012. Full press release below.

USA Cycling Cyclo-cross logoMore than 1,400 cyclists are gearing up for the final national championship event of the season next week – the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships.

Expected to attract upward of 5,000 spectators, the event will return to Bend Oregon’s Old Mill District for the second consecutive year, December 8-12.

36 national titles will be on the line as ‘cross racers of all ages and abilities line up to battle each other, and mother nature, in a festival-like atmosphere that features BikeYoga classes, a warm-up area with LeMond Revolution trainers and the Cross Culture: Art & Bike Festival, among other things.

Several changes are in store for the 2010 event:

• For the first time in the history of the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships – men’s and women’s singlespeed titles will be awarded.

• On race day, competitors will duke it out on a technical course along the Deschutes River in Bend’s Old Mill District. For 2010, the course has been lengthened to add some twists and turns, and to increase lap times.

• With the exception of the elite, U23, 17-18-year-old, and collegiate categories, riders will have the option to earn start spots based on results in the individual time trial completed the day before their race.  The call-ups will then be in this order: 1) top eight riders from the year before, 2) riders seeded in order of time trial results, and 3) all other riders in the category.

Championship racing gets started on Thursday with amateur competitions and wraps up on Sunday afternoon with the elite men’s and women’s contests.

Defending champs in the elite races, Tim Johnson (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld) and Katie Compton (Planet Bike), will toe the line on Sunday in hopes of defending their titles.

Johnson will be up against riders like Jeremy Powers (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld), as well as 2008 champ and hometown favorite, Ryan Trebon (Kona). Trebon will be looking to take back the title after being upset by Johnson a year ago.

For Compton, who is fresh off a World Cup win in Belgium last week, a win in Bend would signify her seventh consecutive elite ‘cross national title. Joining her on course will be several other strong female contenders: Laura Van Gilder (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes), Meredith Miller (Cal Giant/Specialized), and Amy Dombroski (Luna). Almost certain to change the dynamic of the race will be a young Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co), who is moving on from a successful junior career and joining the elite women’s field for the first time in Bend next week.

To see who all is registered, click on “View Registrants” on the event’s webpage, here.

If you are unable to join us in person, USA Cycling will be providing daily results, race recaps, and photos via email and online at

Additionally, the elite men’s and women’s races will be available via LIVE STREAMING right here on Cyclocross Magazine’s website at!