Updated 12/21. Today USA Cycling annouced the riders who will be representing the U.S. at the 2019 World Championships in Bogense, Denmark in the U23 Women, U23 Men and Junior Men categories.

“I am really excited about the level of talent and ability in these young riders that are representing USA Cycling at the 2019 UCI Cyclocross World Championships,” said new USA Cycling Cyclocross Director Jesse Anthony in a press release. “I believe their massive investments this season will produce big performances in Bogense, and I couldn’t be more proud of these young riders for the commitment they’ve shown to this sport.”

Riders selected are below. Stay tuned for the Elite teams. [Update: the Elite USA Cycling team for the 2019 World Championships is here.]

Per the selection criteria, each team is allotted five riders. We reached out to USA Cycling to ask two questions about the selections.

As to why there are only four U23 women, USA Cycling said, “Only three U23 women riders met the qualifications in the selection criteria for the World Championships team, and we selected one rider as a discretionary nomination based on her future medal capability.”

There is no limit on discretionary spots, but athletes who wish to be considered need to apply. Additionally, USA Cycling has requirements for discretionary choices. “The discretionary selections are only for athletes deemed to be current or future medal capable by our coaches and approved by the selection committee. Based on the fact that Maddie [Munro] will be a Junior in the first Junior Worlds for women and is performing as she is currently, we felt she was future medal capable. She’s the only one though from the athletes who petitioned.”

And for why six U23 men and Junior men were selected, USAC said, “For the U23 men and Junior men, the maximum start spots is five, and the Continental Champion receives an exclusive invitation to the World Championships. So, five riders were selected according to the criteria in each of those categories, plus we were able to send a sixth as each of the continental champions in both Junior men and U23 men were American riders.”

U23 Women

Clara Honsinger (Portland, OR – Team S&M CX)
Katie Clouse (Hideout, Utah; Alpha Bicycle Co / Groove Subaru)
Emma Swartz (Madison, Wisc.; Trek Cyclocross Collective)
Maddie Munro (Boulder, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling)

U23 Men

Gage Hecht — (Parker, Colo.; Alpha Bicycle Co / Groove Subaru)
Spencer Petrov — (McKinney, Tex.; Cannondale p/b
Brannan Fix — (Fort Collins, Colo.; Alpha Bicycle Co / Groove Subaru)
Lance Haidet — (San Luis Obispo, Calif.; Donnelly Pro Cyclocross)
Sam Noel — (Shelburne, Vt..; Cannondale p/b )
Cooper Willsey — (Hinesburg, Vt.; Cannondale p/b

Junior Men

Magnus Sheffield — (Pittsford, N.Y.; Cannondale p/b
Alex Morton — (Saint Clair, Mich.; Cannondale p/b
Nick Carter — (Minneapolis, Minn.; KCCX Elite Cyclocross Team)
Andrew Strohmeyer — (Mount Airy, Md.; CTS Cycling Team)
Jared Scott — (Boulder, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling)
Lucas Stierwalt — (Maineville, Ohio; Lionhearts Junior Racing)