Compton with game face on at Providence Day 2 2013. © Meg McMahon

Compton with game face on at Providence Day 2 2013. © Meg McMahon

TABOR, CZECH REPUBLIC – Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective) took over as the new points leader in the Elite Women’s field while Lars van der Haar (Rabobank Development Team) won his second in as many series’ races at the UCI  World Cup in Tabor.

It was a great day for the American women with three U.S. riders placing in the top ten including Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) with an impressive sixth place finish, and Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale p/b taking ninth.

Marriane Vos (Rabobank-Liv/giant) was notably absent from Tabor, leaving it up to the remaining heavy-hitters to duel it out on the very fast course. The surprisingly warm 62 degree weather contributed to the speed, keeping the grass-heavy race dry with the exception of one corner in particular that claimed several victims in the men’s field including World Champion, Sven Nys (Crelan KDY cycling Team).

The women took to the course first with Nikki Harris (Telenet Fidea) taking the holeshot and leading through lap one, pushing the pace and forcing the first round of selection. On the second lap, Compton turned on the gas, taking the lead. Although Harris and teammate Pavla Havlikova worked together to pull her back, at one point momentarily bridging the gap, Compton proved the strongest.  In the last lap Compton was forced to run a hill after the stairs but held her lead finishing six seconds over Harris.

Havlikova rounded out the podium while Sanne Cant (Enerthem-BKCP), who was by herself in fourth position for much of the race, was overtaken in the final meters by Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Faren Kuota), in her last World Cup race before retiring in November.

Cyclocross World Cup Tabor 2013 Women – FINAL LAP

[youtube 580 380]


“It reminds me of U.S. racing. The terrain and course were similar. I attacked early and was able to maintain it but I was really feeling it,” Compton explained. “The downhill I was getting a little time each lap. I had just enough gap to have to stay on the pedals the whole time.”

As for her season overall? “I want to win the overall again, that’s my goal. I like being consistent and being on the podium a lot.”

Lars van der Haar wins World Cup Valkenburg. © Thomas van Bracht

Lars van der Haar winning the World Cup at Valkenburg last week. © Thomas van Bracht

In the men’s race, last week’s winner Lars van der Haar (Rabobank Development Team) managed his second World Cup win in a dramatic sprint finish against Philipp Walsleben (BKCP-Powerplus). The duo rode together nearly the entire race after separating themselves from the rest of the field in lap two.

The decisive spit took shape on the barriers when Walsleben, opting to stay on his bike, jumped the obstacles allowing him to move up to van der Haar who was then at the front of the field. By the time the two riders had moved through the subsequent chicane they had a six second advantage.

Playing to their favor was the fact that no one from the group of about 15 riders behind seemed immediately willing to lead the chase and by lap three the lead had grown to 21 seconds. Meanwhile, the slippery corner that seemed to have softened as the day progressed claimed Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team) as its first victim.

The fall, however, did not stop Pauwels from taking up the charge on the next lap, moving into third position just van der Haar and then moments later Nys would become themselves victims of the slippery section of the course.

In Van der Haar’s case several seconds were lost when his bike became entangled in a cable on the side of the course allowing Walsleben to solo ahead. It looked as though it might be Walsleben’s day but Van der Haar put in an impressive effort, keeping Pauwels at bay and closing the gap to the leader by the beginning of lap five.

With the two well ahead of the rest of the field, it was a race for third. Francis Mourey ( put in some hard efforts, overtaking Pauwels at one point with a comfortable lead.  An unfortunate mechanical, however, allowed Pauwels and teammate Klaas Vantornout to capture Mourey  with Pauwels eventually pulling through to finish ahead. Mourney and Vantornut crossed the line in fourth and fifth respectively.

Nys was struggling to keep up noticeably after the crash, eventually finishing well down for the day. His bad luck was a continuation of last week’s flat tire and broken chain that forced him to abandon the opening round of the World Cup in Valkenberg.

Cyclocross World Cup Tabor 2013 Men – FINAL LAP

[youtube 580 380]


In his first season in the U23 ranks, Logan Owen (Bremerton, Wash./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) placed 21st in the U23 men’s race (the same placing from Valkenburg) as the top American. Owen was two minutes and 34 seconds off the winning pace of Dutchman Mathiew Van der Poel while Gianna Vermeersch (BEL) and Wout Van Aert (BEL) were second and third. Americans Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y./ and Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz, Calif./California Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) finished 31st and 36th respectively.

In the junior men’s race, Adam Toupalik (CZE), Eli Iserbyt (BEL) and Joris Nieuwenhuis (NED) were the top three finishers while American Maxx Chance (Boulder, Colo./Clif Bar Development Cyclocross Team) was 36th, four minutes and two seconds off of Toupalik’s winning pace.

Elite Men’s Results:

1Lars VAN DER HAARNED221:09:06
2Philipp WALSLEBENGER261:09:06
3Kevin PAUWELSBEL291:09:17
4Francis MOUREYFRA331:09:18
5Klaas VANTORNOUTBEL311:09:30
6Niels ALBERTBEL271:09:33
7Bart AERNOUTSBEL311:09:37
8Martin BINACZE301:09:42
9Corne VAN KESSELNED221:09:57
10Enrico FRANZOIITA311:10:01
11Thijs VAN AMERONGENNED271:10:01
13Martin HARINGSVK271:10:21
14Thijs ALNED331:10:25
15Niels WUBBENNED251:10:26
16Simon ZAHNERSUI301:10:26
7Rob PEETERSBEL281:10:26
18Ian FIELDGBR271:10:43
19Julien TARAMARCAZSUI261:10:58
20Micki VAN EMPELNED231:11:05
21Wietse BOSMANSBEL221:11:12
22Sven NYSBEL371:11:34
23Mariusz GILPOL301:11:35
24Lubomir PETRUSCZE231:11:35
25Marco PONTAITA261:11:47
26Marcel WILDHABERSUI281:12:23
27Twan VAN DEN BRANDNED241:12:32
28Robert GAVENDASVK251:12:39
29Patrick VAN LEEUWENNED281:12:52
30Marcel MEISENGER241:13:04
31Jonathan PAGEUSA371:13:12
32Vladimir KYZIVATCZE311:13:31
33Jordy LUISMANNED281:13:45
34Arnaud JOUFFROYFRA231:13:49
35Magnus DARVELLSWE311:13:51
36Sascha WEBERGER251:13:53
37Ondrej BAMBULACZE261:14:10
38Ole QUASTGER241:14:15
39Yannick MAYERGER221:14:47
40Milan BARENYISVK391:15:09
41Kenneth HANSENDEN221:15:20
42Michal MALêKCZE241:16:03
45Filip ADELCZE23
46Radomir SIMUNEKCZE30
48Joachim PARBODEN39
50Christoph AMBROZIAKGER30

Elite Women’s Results:

1Katherine COMPTONUSA3543:41:00
2Nikki HARRISGBR2743:47:00
3Pavla HAVLIKOVACZE3043:48:00
4Christel FERRIER-BRUNEAUFRA3444:18:00
5Sanne CANTBEL2344:18:00
6Meredith MILLERUSA4044:28:00
7Ellen VAN LOYBEL3344:35:00
9Kaitlin ANTONNEAUUSA2144:46:00
10Sophie DE BOERNED2344:52:00
11Helen WYMANGBR3245:00:00
12Gabriella DURRINGBR2945:22:00
13Martina MIKULASKOVACZE2045:40:00
14Marlne MOREL PETITGIRARDFRA2546:14:00
15Arley KEMMERERUSA2946:20:00
16Nadja HEIGLAUT1746:29:00
17Caroline MANIFRA2646:36:00
18Tereza MEDVEDOVASVK1746:37:00
19Lana VERBERNENED2146:51:00
20Annefleur KALVENHAARNED1947:13:00
21Karla STEPANOVACZE2247:21:00
22Nikola NOSKOVACZE1647:26:00
23Jessica LAMBRACHTGER1847:30:00
24Margriet Helena KLOPPENBURGDEN2547:48:00
25Asa Maria ERLANDSSONSWE3948:03:00
26Lisa HECKMANNGER2548:23:00
27Ayako TOYOOKAJPN3348:29:00
28Janka STEVKOVASVK3749:33:00
29Zuzana VOJTASOVASVK3449:43:00
31Martina KUKULOVACZE1850:13:00
32Luisa BECKGER2450:31:00
33Livia HANESOVASVK3152:26:00