Whether it be LeBron and Chris Bosh joining Dwayne Wade in Miami, Kevin Durant joining the 73-9 Warriors, the Traveling Wilburys or Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, supergroups are nothing new in sports and music.

Cyclocross now has its own version of the supergroup with the merger of the Pauwels Sauzen – Vastgoedservice and Marlux – Bingoal teams for the coming cyclocross season.

The new team is called Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal and will sport the maroon and orange similar to that worn by the PSV riders last season.

The new team retains many of the members from the two merged squads.

The Women’s team will be headed up by Loes Sels, Maud Kaptheijns (as of September 1) and Laura Verdonschot. Jolien Verschueren is still under contract with the program, and Denise Betsema—who tested positive for a banned substance—is still listed as a member of the team.

The Men’s team features a number of top not-MvdP-or-WvA riders. Laurens Sweeck and Michael Vanthourenhout will be the two team leaders, with two-time U23 world champion Eli Iserbyt joining them.

Other Elite Men’s riders are Jens Adams, Daan Soete, Yannick Peeters, and both leader’s brothers: Diether Sweeck and Dieter Vanthourenhout.

U23 team members include 2018 Valkenburg Worlds Junior podium finishers Ryan Kamp and Tomas Kopecky, among others.

The new team will ride Ridley road and cyclocross bikes. Bingoal has signed as a sponsor through 2024 and Pauwels Sauzen through 2021, although the latter expects to continue the collaboration through at least 2023.

Team members are scheduled to race a full schedule of summer road and kermesse races beginning on Wednesday with the Puivelde Koerse.

More info

Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 2019/20 Roster

Elite Women

Denise Betsema
Maud Kaptheijns
Loes Sels
Laura Verdonschot
Julien Verschueren

Elite Men

Jens Adams
Eli Iserbyt
Yannick Peeters
Daan Soete
Diether Sweeck
Laurens Sweeck
Dieter Vanthourenhout
Michael Vanthourenhout

U23 Men

Jarno Bellens
Jelle Camps
Arno Debeir
Maxim DeWulf
Anton Ferdinande
Ryan Kamp
Tomas Kopecky
Toon Vandebosch
Victor Vandebosch

Junior Men

Angelo De Clercq