Kevin Pauwels on the way to the win © Bart Hazen

Kevin Pauwels on the way to the win on New Year’s Day last year. © Bart Hazen

Christmas week has just about kicked off, with the EuroCrossCamp crew (complete with two women this year!) heading over to Europe during the week to prepare for a wild few days of intense racing in the motherland of cyclocross. And while the bpost bank trofee race at Essen today didn’t have as many Americans in the field as races closer to Christmas will, there were a few new faces included Mo Bruno Roy and Jeremy Durrin on the start line, joining Belgian-based Jonathan Page and Christine Vardaros.

In the men’s race, Kevin Pauwels took a commanding win over the past two world champions, Sven Nys and Niels Albert, respectively. Pauwels had nearly 30 seconds in hand by the finish, an impressive result that shows his win last week in Kalmthout was no fluke.

A noticeable addition to the field was Zdenek Stybar, who took eighth place. Stybar’s road racing career has taken off in the past year and he has subsequently cut back on his cyclocross schedule. We knew he would be back for Christmas week, but we’re interested to see how the races play out for the former World Champion.

Belgian-based Jonathan Page finished 21st, with Durrin in 40th. Kiwi Alexander Revell finished just behind Durrin in 42nd.

In the women’s race, it was Sanne Cant who took the win over Helen Wyman, with Wyman’s fellow countrywoman Nikki Harris coming in for third. On the American side, Bruno Roy took ninth and Kemmerer took 13th, with Vardaros in 21st.

Twenty one seems to be the lucky number for both Americans living in Belgium. It’d be a good day to play blackjack!

Bpost Bank Trofee at Essen Photo Galley: 

bpost bank trofee Essen 2013 Elite Men Results

1Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team
2Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team
3Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus Cycling Team
4Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team
5Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team
6Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
7Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team
8Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-QuickStep
9Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team
10Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus
11Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
12Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
13Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) Team Natubalans-Apex
14Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
15Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
16Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team
17Martin Bina (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team
18Twan van den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
19Patrick Gaudy (Bel) The Barracuda Company
20Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus Cycling Team
21Jonathan Page (USA) Fuji-Spy-Competitive Cyclist
22Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus Cycling Team
23Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
24Aitor Hernandez Gutierrez (Spa)
25Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team
26Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Coolens Cycling Team
27Dave De Cleyn (Bel) Team Thielemans-Van Cauter
28Stef Boden (Bel) Melbotech Cycling Team
29Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
30Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus Cycling Team
31Bart Hofman (Bel) Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV - VZW
32Kevin Cant (Bel) Primator Cyclingteam
33Mariusz Gil (Pol) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team
34Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team
35Radomir Simunek (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team
36Sascha Weber (Ger) Team Differdange-Losch
37Niels Koyen (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team
38Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)
39Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles
40Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
41Ole Quast (Ger) Stevens Racing Team
42Alexander Revell (NZl)
43Wouter Goosen (Bel) Zannata Cycling Team
44Angus Edmond (NZl)


bpost bank trofee Essen 2013 Elite Women Results

1Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP
2Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing
3Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
4Ellen Van Loy (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team
5Githa Michiels (Bel) Toka Print MTB Team
6Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabobank Liv/Giant
7Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus
8Sophie de Boer (Ned) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
9Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles
10Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Up Cycling Team
11Laura Verdonschot (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling
12Cindy Bauwens (Bel)
13Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling
14Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Endura Lady Force
15Esmee Oosterman (Ned) WRV De Peddelaars
16Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) ZRTC Theo Middelkamp
17Shana Maes (Bel) Kriekel Cycling Team
18Femke Van Den Driessche (Bel)
19Delia Beddis (GBr)
20Ilona Meter (Ned) Giant
21Christine Vardaros (USA) Team Stevens
22Hilde Quintens (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW
23Lizzy Witlox (Ned)
24Meg De Bruyne (Bel) Rijschool AH - Gentse VS
25Petra Mermans (Bel) Vanomobil MTB Cycling Team
26Claire Beaumont (GBr)
27Gertie Willems (Bel) Kriekel Cycling Team Tessenderlo
28Annemarie Worst (Ned)
29Kristien Nelen (Bel)
30Valerie Boonen (Bel) De Kastelse Durvers
31Axelle Dubau Prevot (Bel)
32Tine Verdeyen (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW
33Lene Vrijsen (Bel)
34Chantal Verstraten (Ned)
35Brenda Kaczmarczyk (Pol)
36Sandie Verriest (Bel) Asfra Racing Team
37Jorinda de Heer (Ned)
38Cindy Diericx (Bel) Autoglass Wetteren Solar CT
39Maaike Lanssens (Bel) WC De Molenspurters Meulebeke