Van Den Brand Defends Title in Dutch Championships

Pin It

Van den Brand wins the Dutch National Championships. January 10, 2010. © Bart Hazen

by Bart Hazen

Daphny van den Brand has prolonged her title in the Elite Women’s category. Van den Brand won after an exciting battle from World Champion Marianne Vos. Sanne van Paassen completed the podium.

Van den Brand and Vos dominated the race from the beginning. The race lead was constantly changing as both riders crashed, slipped away or made crucial mistakes. In the final lap, both champions were riding together, but on the asphalt section towards the finish, Van den Brand was able to hold off the World Champion for the win.

Ockeloen and Van Leijen the best in Women’s youth categories

The wins in the women’s youth categories went to Helena van Leijen (Beginners) and Iris Ockeloen (Juniors). Van Leijen won over Lizzy Witlox and Evy Kuijpers while Iris Ockeloen surprised everyone with the win in the Juniors category. Lana Verberne finished second and Sabrina Stultiens third. Top favorite Rebecca Talen started well but after some crashes and mistakes she dropped back and finished in fourth.

Photo Gallery- Elite Women:

Photo Gallery- Junior Women:

Results- Elite Women:
1  van den Brand, Daphny Zeeland 44:01
2  Vos, Marianne Meeuwen 44:09 0:08
3  van Paassen, Sanne Vlierden 46:47 2:46
4  van Rijen, Linda Den Bosch 47:20 3:19
5  de Boer, Sophie Enschede z.t.
6  Hormes, Reza Wijchen 48:54 4:53
7  Grimberg, Arenda Almelo 49:30 5:29
8  van de Ree, Monique Willemstad NB 49:48 5:47
9  van den Hoek, Bianca Bussum 51:33 7:32
10  Kroes, Linda Groningen Op 1 Ronde
11  Borra, Sophie Bennekom
12  Peetoom, Kirsten Badhoevedorp
13  ter Beek, Linda Bad Bentheim
14  van der Vaart, Klara Mijdrecht
15  Troost, Mieke Poortugaal
16  Jochems, Britt Vianen UT
17  Claessen, Marjolein Hoeven
18  Hartogs, Imke Amersfoort
19  Alleleijn, Marianne Bocholtz

Results- Junior Women:
1  Ockeloen, Iris Dordrecht 43:00
2  Verberne, Lana Lierop 44:04 1:04
3  Stultiens, Sabrina Meijel 44:44 1:44
4  Talen, Rebecca Spijkenisse 45:05 2:05
5  Goossens, Veerle Bakel 45:07 2:07
6  Bazuin, Dirkje ‘s-Gravenhage 47:25 4:25
7  Meerkerk, Marion ‘s-Gravendeel 47:28 4:28
8  Bremmers, Ingeborg Valkenswaard 48:47 5:47
9  van der Peet, Joyce ‘s-Gravenhage 49:57 6:57
10  Oude Wansink, Nicole Tiel 50:44 7:44
11  Wildeman, Jet Raalte + 1 lap
12  Killaars, Anouk Reuver
13  Verstraten, Chantal Roosendaal

Results- Beginners Women:
1  van Leijen, Helena Wageningen 27:06
2  Witlox, Lizzy Eindhoven 27:37 0:31
3  Kuijpers, Evy Lierop z.t.
4  Schobben, Julia Gorinchem 27:43 0:37
5  Kalvenhaar, Annefleur Wierden 29:08 2:02
6  Mulder,Mascha Ridderkerk 29:14 2:08
7  Kaptheijns, Maud Westerhoven 30:48 3:42
8  Hellemons, Ashley Hoeven 32:06 5:00
9  van der Peet, Melissa Den Haag 32:37 5:31
10  Peer, Anne BeuningenGld 33:03 5:57
11  Stijns, Kyara Bunde 33:26 6:20
12  Sluyter, Danielle Rijswijk 34:19 7:13
13  Verstraten, Daniella Roosendaal 34:55 7:49
14  van Lith, Nicole Bladel 35:05 7:59
15  Meijering, Mareille Stadskanaal + 1 lap



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Become a CXM Supporter:

Like the content on We're just a tiny two full-time person operation with big aspirations. Help us continue to bring you awesome cx content: Become a CXM supporter today:


What do you do in the off-season?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Support CXM at no extra cost to you: