Gabby Day at the Midnight Ride of Cyclocross. Russ Campbell

Gabby Day racing in the dark at the Midnight Ride of Cyclocross. © Russ Campbell

LANCASTER, MASSACHUSETTS – New England’s Holy Week of Cyclocross is back. In response to last year’s successful launch, The Midnight Ride of Cyclocross has partnered with Wheelworks to return in 2012 with an expanded evening of racing under the lights at The Fairgrounds in Lancaster on Wednesday, September 26th. Wheelworks, New England’s premier cycling retailer, will be acting as Title Sponsor. “It’s a real pleasure for Wheelworks to support an up-and-coming event like The Midnight Ride of Cyclocross,” says Clint Paige, President of Wheelworks.

Race Director Gary David echoes the sentiments of Wheelworks in terms of the new partnership. “Wheelworks has long been a standard in the Boston area cycling community. Many people who enter into cycling do so through Wheelworks. Their support of The Midnight Ride will only help make the event more successful, and hopefully draw more interested racers into trying cyclocross.”

The Midnight Ride of Cyclocross opens the prestigious Holy Week of cyclocross racing, which includes The Gran Prix of Gloucester, the Night Weasels Cometh and The Providence Festival of Cyclocross. The Midnight Ride of Cyclocross features multiple fields for amateur athletes, as well as national and international champions, to compete on a picturesque fairground. The 2011 Midnight Ride of Cyclocross played host to local competitors and a host of international professionals, many of whom competed for their respective national teams at the World Championships. This included Men’s winner (and current Great Britain National Champion) Ian Field and Women’s winner (and Great Britain National Champion) Helen Wyman. “It was brilliant to come out and race at night. It’s more fun than going out training and the competition is a lot better than some people might think. The spectators were great as well,” said Ian Field, winner of the Men’s Elite race and 2012 UK National Cyclocross Champion.