U23 National Champ Nick Weighall joins Cal Giant / Specialized Cyclocross Team. © Joe Sales

First-year Elite and current U23 National Champion Nick Weighall has found a home for the upcoming cyclocross season. After a successful development career with Rad Racing, Weighall joins the Cal Giant Berry Farms / Specialized Cyclocross Team for 2009. See full press release below.

Cal Giant Berry Logo_pmsSpecialized CyclocrossCalifornia Giant Berry Farms of Watsonville California and Specialized of Morgan Hill California are teaming up again for the 2009-10 U.S. Cyclocross season. The squad will feature one Elite woman, 2009 USA Road Champion Meredith Miller and three Elite Men, including 2008 U23 National Champion Nick Weighall, two-time 30+ National Champion Justin Robinson, Chance Noble and top Northern California Junior Cody Kaiser.

All Elite athletes will be riding the Specialized S-Works Carbon Tricross Bicycles powered by SRAM Force Drive trains, Zipp 303 Cross wheel sets. Also sponsoring the team is TRP Brakes, Crank Brothers pedals and for tires. In addition to the Elite athletes, a high-powered masters team will round out the squad. They include three-time National Masters Champion Alan Coats, two-time National Champion Todd Hoefer and two-time Masters Worlds Silver medalist and 2009 U.S. Silver medalist Henry Kramer.

Beginning in September, the team will tackle a full Northern California schedule of races, the USGP of Cyclocross and select UCI races such as Star Crossed and Cross Vegas as well as the National Cyclocross Championships in Bend, Or.

California Giant Berry Farms, one of the nation’s largest grower-shippers of fresh strawberries, has sponsored a cycling team for nine years and is proud to contribute to the health of American consumers by providing an abundant, healthy & delicious product. The company is committed to supporting cycling and other organizations that send positive messages about the importance of combining diet and exercise as part of a healthy lifestyle.

2009-2010 Elite Roster

Meredith Miller – Ft Collins, CO

Nick Weighall – Mill Creek, WA

Chance Noble – Camarillo, CA

Justin Robinson – Santa Cruz, CA

Cody Kaiser – Sacramento, CA