Jake Wells (Alpha Bicycle Co. – Groove Silverthorne), who’s no stranger to stripes, took first after he moved up an age group since 2021.

Justin Morgan (Fieldriders) came in second.

2019 Lakewood Cyclocross Nationals Masters Men 45-49 runner-up Justin Robinson (Santa Cruz Free agent) finished third.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by USA Cycling (@usacycling)

This year’s field was almost half of the pre-pandemic 2017 Hartford Nationals. Only 45 riders attended compared to 2017’s 97 riders, but the front of the race was just as fast.

See the full result for the race below.

2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships Hartford Results: Masters Men 45-49

1301Jake WELLSAlpha Bicycle Co. - Groove Silverthorne42:44.
2303Justin MORGANFieldriders44:46.
3338Justin ROBINSONSanta Cruz Free agent45:04.
4302Eneas FREYRETTEndurance45:08.
5312Jesse RIENTSKUHL Cycling Team45:59.
6326Kent HAMMONDPAA Cycling46:17.
7304Eric ANDERSONTREK - BGI47:08.
8307Michael WISSELLB2C2 p-b JRA Cycles47:11.
9308Jason BIGGSJigawatt Cycling P-B Carolina Ale House47:15.
10344Brian BRESSLERHupkit.com47:23.
11315Mark HARMSNeff Cycle Service47:24.
12313Colm MCMAHONWheelworks Racing47:26.
13316Jacob ROBERTSONState 9 Racing47:26.
14342Timothy SAARIKLM ColdStone47:49.
15310Hunter PRONOVOSTCheshire Cycle Racing48:31.
16311Karel CITROENWV Amsterdam49:11.
17317David FREIFELDERWestwood Cycle49:20.
18319Peter MILLER049:39.
19318Daniel COADYJoes Garage49:55.
20309Niklas BRANDTC3-Wagner Roofing50:05.
21324Michael BENSONState 9 Racing50:25.
22323Craig VETTORIJoes Garage50:42.
23314Nick MORELLLamprey Systems51:02.
24334Stanley LEZONEUIN Creative Racing Team51:12.
25305Tim STELZERBoulder Junior Cycling51:18.
26346Peter DINOLFONorth American Velo52:00.
27320David DORNAUSCorner Cycle52:42.
28339Chandler DELINKSGhost of CyclocrossWorld Devo52:49.
29337Anthony GIGUEREBMB RACING53:07.
30306Tony ROMAGNA053:19.
32332Charlie MULLERShark River Devo54:35.
33322Scott DAVIDSONBlue Hills Cycling Club54:40.
34331Eric WYZGA054:56.
35335Brett CHENAILTeam Horst Sports55:10.
36321Matt ZAROTNYJoes Garage55:39.
37330Seth PHILLIPSJalape??o Cycling56:15.
38340David CRELLING042:39.
39329Andrew MILLERPROthirteen43:05.
40325William FAUCETTESquadra Coppi43:33.
41336Oscar PURWINMinuteman Road Club43:42.
42345Brad WALKER545 Velo43:59.
43341Kyle SMITHBoston Racing Independent44:16.
44343Craig ROSSCannondale46:38.
DNF328Paul CONNOR760

See all our 2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals coverage here.

Win a custom-built-for-you Chris Sallen Cycles fillet brazed or lugged frame, Ibis mountain bike wheels, a Marin Pine Mountain 29er, Ritchey WCS cockpit, Coefficient Cycling handlebars and much more in the silent auction fundraiser.