Tom Ryse (Pathways Endurance Coaching-School of Cross) took the Masters title, upgrading from bronze to gold after his third in last year’s USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships.

Last year’s winner Jim Cochran (Rule #5-Nicks Cycling & Fitness), and author of articles on the flaws of USA Cycling’s ranking system, came in second after a small lead on Paul Bourcier (Symantec Corp-SPR) who also got third in 2019 Lakewood Cyclocross Nationals Masters Men 50-54.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by USA Cycling (@usacycling)

Unlike most other fields, this age group’s field size did not contract, growing by one rider from 55 riders in 2017 Hartford to 56 in 2022.

See the full result for the race below.

2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships Hartford Results: Masters Men 55-59

1602Tom RYSEPathways Endurance Coaching-School of Cross40:57.
2601Jim COCHRANRule #5-Nicks Cycling & Fitness41:33.
3610Paul BOURCIERSymantec Corp-SPR41:37.
4608Roger ASPHOLMFinkraft Cycling Team41:44.
5611Scott DAUBERTTrek Waterloo42:11.
6609Paul RICHARDCCB Racing-CCNS42:43.
7613Paul LIVELLISportif Coaching Group42:52.
8607Michael MCSHANEBe Real Sports43:13.
9603Andy AUGUSTMinuteman|Empire Automation p-b Full Moon Vista43:15.
10619Ralf WARMUTH043:40.
11617Dave GRANTActiveYards-Piscitello Law p-b GoCycling43:49.
12612Erik GRIMMMinuteman|Empire Automation p-b Full Moon Vista44:14.
13622Richard MCCLUNGBroadmark Cycling Team44:32.
14623Max CANDIDUSRiverside Racing44:44.
15614Paul VOGELBMB Racing45:21.
16627Jon GALLAGHEROne2Go Event Services-Rule 76 Racing45:25.
17615Michael ROWELLTwoAdventures Racing45:35.
18621Tom WEAVERSummit Freewheelers45:57.
19616Brent EVANSShining Star Cycling p-b DNA Cycling46:20.
20605Larry SMITHModern Market Racing p-b GR Capital Partners46:24.
21629David CONNERYBMB Racing46:28.
22618Kelly CLINEPhiladelphia Ciclismo47:07.
23657Lance LAWFinKraft Cycling Team47:48.
24620Paul DEBARTOLOFinkraft Cycling Team47:48.
25606Joe TADDEUCCIRally Sport Cycling Team48:06.
26639James WILLSEYGreen Mountain Bicycle Club48:07.
27625Nelson REPENNINGCycleSmart-ShiftGear48:30.
28630Henry VAN DEN BROEKpedalpowertraining.com48:37.
29655Evan ADAMSdfL48:45.
30624David STACEYBlue Collar Racing48:53.
31656Mike STEVENSActiveYards - Piscitello Law p-b GoCycling49:08.
32632Robert DIETRICKSyracuse Bicycle p-b Verge Sport49:14.
33634Daryl BECKNCC50:21.
34626Zachary WILLSMassage Envy Racing51:35.
35642Lewis COLLINS545 Velo51:41.
36643Paul BOUDREAUecv | essex county velo51:53.
37649Jim ST. ANDRETT Endurance38:29.
38637Peter SHERRYPlum Grove Cyclery38:34.
39633Don DAVISMinuteman|Empire Automation PB Full Moon Vista39:00.
40645Mark BURNSNantucket Velo39:21.
41653Ken JANSENEXPO Wheelmen-Yeti Cycles39:29.
42631Ramon BENITEZOrthoVirginia Racing40:24.
43644Kemal TUNCERDCMTB40:38.
44647Paul WEISSPortland Velo Club-Cyclemania41:14.
45641Jeff DIEFFENBACH545 Velo42:20.
46635Jim OTTOHammerCross43:58.
47636James REEDERKissena Cycling Club44:22.
48651Igor BYSTRYCKYCycle Craft-Team Bulldog46:34.
DNS604Steve LAURELSanitas Cycles
DNS628Tom PRUGARRiverside Racing
DNS648Eric BRASSELL545 Velo
DNS650Jp PARTLANDKissena Cycling Club
DNS654Alan POTTER545 Velo
DNS652Jonathan HUNTPen Velo Racing-Summit Bicycles

See all our 2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals coverage here.

Win a custom-built-for-you Chris Sallen Cycles fillet brazed or lugged frame, Ibis mountain bike wheels, a Marin Pine Mountain 29er, Ritchey WCS cockpit, Coefficient Cycling handlebars and much more in the silent auction fundraiser.