Jonathan Page looked great, but had a disappointing last lap - Sint Niklaas, Belgium, January 2, 2010.  © Dan Seaton

Jonathan Page en route to a podium in Sint Niklaas, Belgium © Dan Seaton

USA Cycling has completed the last round of nominations to the United States National Team for the 2010 UCI Cyclocross World Championships in Tabor, Czech Republic. Five athletes were named to the elite men’s squad, rounding out the 20-rider U.S. contingent.

Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) earned an automatic nomination to the team as the highest ranked American in the UCI cyclocross rankings in 16th-place. With 2009 accolades that include an eighth-place ride in round five of the World Cup in Igorre, Spain, the 2007 world championship silver medalist will lead the five-man team.

Also earning an automatic nomination to the team is Tim Johnson ( Fresh off of his win at the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships in Bend last month, Johnson is currently the second-highest American in the UCI rankings in 24th place.

Ryan Trebon (KONA) earned the final automatic nomination to the men’s squad by garnering the most points in five out of the six U.S. qualification races. With his silver medal performance at the national championships and his fourth-place ranking in the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Racing Calendar standings, Trebon should be a strong contender in Tabor.

Johnson, Powers and Driscoll mirror their Saturday places © Tom Olesnevich

Newly crowned National Champ Tim Johnson is bringing the whole damned team. © Tom Olesnevich

Discretionary nominations went to Johnson’s two teammates on the powerhouse team – Jeremy Powers and Jamey Driscoll. After topping the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Racing Calendar standings, Powers rode to a strong fifth-place at the national championships last month. Driscoll was third in the national calendar standings and sixth in the national championship race.

The Elite Women’s, U23 men’s, and Junior men’s squads were announced earlier this month.

2010 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships
Tabor, Czech Republic


Elite Men
Jonathan Page
(Northfield, N.H./Planet Bike)
Tim Johnson
(Middleton, Mass/
Ryan Trebon
(Bend, Ore./KONA)
Jeremy Powers
(Hadley, Mass./
James Driscoll
(Jericho, Vt./

Elite Women
Katie Compton
(Colorado Springs, Colo./Planet Bike)
Amy Dombroski
(Boulder, Colo./Schalmm p/b Primus)
Meredith Miller
(Fort Collins, Colo./California Giant-Specialized)
Laura Van Gilder
(Cresco, Pa./C3-Sollay)
Maureen Bruno-Roy
(Arlington, Mass./MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles)

U23 Men
Danny Summerhill
(Englewood, Colo./Garmin-Felt)
Luke Keough
(Sandwich, Mass.)
Zach McDonald
(Bainbridge Island, Wash./Stevens Classic Cycle)
Jerome Townsend
(Princeton, Mass./’s Garage)
Dave Hackworthy
(Hudson, Wisc./Plan C)

Junior Men
Cody Kaiser
(El Dorado Hills, Calif./Cal Giant)
Jeff Bahnson (Newark, De./Thule-Vandessel)
Skyler Trujillo
(Fort Collins, Colo./Black Sheep)
Chris Wallace
(Shawnee, Kan./KCCX-Verge)
Matt Spinks
(Layton, N.J./Young Medalists-Team Dual Temp)