Full 2016 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championship coverage can be found right here.

The age group race reports are brought to you in part by Verge Sport.

#CXNats race reports from Wed-Saturday are brought to you in part by Verge Sport.

By Ricoh Riott

ASHEVILLE, N.C.—Today Tea Wright (Boulder Junior Cycling) became a National Champion for the second time, adding to her win in her hometown Boulder in 2012. In a close race, Lizzy Gunsalus (Bay Hill Capital p/b Corner Cycles) and Lauren Zoerner (Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru) joined her on the podium.

Hammering off the start line, Aubrey Drummond (OKCVC Bike Lab) led riders along the starting straight and into the first corner. Wright took over quickly and pulled the pack through the Bike Barn and up Ingles Heckle Hill, with Bridget Tooley (Matrix Cycling Club) hot on her wheel. She consolidated her lead with a gap of 5-10 seconds through the finish line as she lead the race into the second and final lap.

With half a lap to go, the battle for the lower steps raged with Lizzy Gunsalus finally passing Lauren Zoerner on the off-camber leading into the Bike Barn, securing her second place finish. Wright increased her lead over the pair to 40 seconds, rolling over the line in 19:30 to win the race. Juliann Vanderhaegen (Rad Racing NW) and Ryley Mosher (Wheelworks Racing JR) followed Zoerner under the American flag to complete the podium.

In our post-race interview, Wright revealed she has some well-known help in her training. “Pete Webber, he’s my coach and he really helps me out.” She said.

See the photo gallery below the results.

2016 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships Junior Women 13-14 Full Results

1Tea WRIGHTBoulder Junior Cycling19:30.
2Lizzy GUNSALUSBay Hill Capital p/b Corner Cy20:10.
3Lauren ZOERNERAlpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru20:22.
4Juliann VANDERHAEGENRad Racing NW20:31.
5Ryley MOSHERWheelworks Racing JR20:37.
6Abigail YATESMatrix/RBM20:50.
7Bridget TOOLEYMatrix Cycling Club20:58.
8Faith MONTREUILRed Zone Cycling21:04.
9Aubrey DRUMMONDOKCVC Bike Lab21:13.
10Ava SYKESTWENTY16 Pro Cycling21:40.
11Zoe TA-PEREZThe TEAM SoCalCross21:56.
12Emma OSBORNETeam Extreme21:59.
13Meredith SIERPINARed Zone Cycling21:59.
14Kate SEILERRed Zone Cycling22:02.
15Madeline MORONEYKelly Benefit Strategies/LSV22:29.
16Skylar BOVINERevolting Cogs22:42.
17Mckenna MCKEE22:43.
18Cassie BOPFRock Creek Velo23:14.
19Emma HUMPHREYSRock Creek Velo23:18.
20Brianna URBANABD Cycling Team23:39.
21Kaia SCHMIDCyclocrossworld23:42.
22Grace MATTERN23:57.
23Victoria WILLIAMSMOAB24:10.
24Michaela SCHULZELionhearts Junior Racing24:17.
25Elizabeth CAYENNEMCCALLRock Creek Velo24:45.
26Samantha WILLIAMSRock Creek Velo25:10.
27Hope MAHERTeam Edge25:21.
28Olivia RADEMACHERLionhearts Junior Racing25:32.
29Sophia WATTSAlpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru25:55.
30Eleanor DYASMidwest Devo26:54.
31Carolina NAVARROKCOI U2028:18.
32Eleanor ISRAEL28:34.
33Hannah FRANKRock Creek Velo29:01.
34Anna POWELLAltius Cycling Team30:26.
35Avery MOORHEADAlpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru17:54.
36Madalyn GREEN18:54.
37Meriele GREENLionhearts Junior Racing21:04.

Be sure to enter Verge Sport’s Cyclocross Nationals giveaway, details here.

Stay up-to-date on every 2016 USA Cycling National Championship race this week and other Nationals news from Asheville, North Carolina, right here.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse
Back around the barn for Tea Wright

Back around the barn for Tea Wright. 2016 National Championships. © R. Riott / Cyclocross Magazine

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse