Sven Nys said he felt strong, and knew he could win. ©

Sven Nys said he felt strong, and knew he could win again (photo:CrossVegas 2014). ©

Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink) opened the Bpost Bank Trofee Series opener in Ronse, Belgium with a dominating win.

Behind, 2014 Superprestige Gieten winner Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP – Powerplus) attacked the chase pack and escaped the Sunweb-Napoleon Games teammates of Klaas Vantornout, Kevin Pauwels and Lars van der Haar (Giant – Shimano) to take second. Van der Poel, a 19-year-old phenom, took a jump on the last lap and landed poorly and crashed, nearly losing his podium spot.

Behind, Vantornout nearly caught van der Poel for second, while Pauwels outsprinted van der Haar for fourth.

In the women’s race, Sophie de Boer (Kalas-NNOF) won over Helen Wyman, reversing yesterday’s results in at the GP Brabant. Jolien Verscheuren (Decock Woningbouw Vandekerckhove) took third. American Elle Anderson (Kalas-NNOF) crashed with Sanne Cant on the first lap. 

For more coverage and full results of the Bpost Bank Trofee race in Ronse.