Nys Wins Belgian National Championship; German, Dutch, French, British Cyclocross National Championships Round-up

Pin It
Sven Nys wins and salutes his bike for the second race in a row. © photopress.be

Sven Nys taking a win on his new Trek Boone. © photopress.be

As the US Cyclocross National Championships continue to unfold, the battles for European titles have been under way.

Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink) took the Belgian National Cyclocross Championship ahead of Rob Peeters (Vastgodservice-Golden Palace) and Bart Wellens (Telenet Fidea) in Waregem.

Nys distanced himself from the competition on the third lap, taking advantage of a bobble by Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games) as they negotiated a long sand pit.

Both Peeters and Wellens came back from bad starts to inch their way towards the front of the race. On the final lap Peeters got away from Wellens to take the silver medal. Finishing 32 seconds down from Nys.

Pauwels dropped back after being separated from Nys to finish over a minute back, while race favorite Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) abandoned the race.

In the women’s race, it was no surprise that Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) also came from behind to take the win ahead of Ellen Van Loy (Telenet-Fidea) and Githa Michiels.


2014 Belgian National Championships Top Results:


1. Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink)

2. Rob Peeters (Vastgodservice-Golden Palace)

3. Bart Wellens (Telenet Fidea)


1. Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP)

2. Ellen Van Loy (Telenet-Fidea)

3. Githa Michiels


2014 French National Championships Top Results:


1. Francis Mourey (FDJ.fr)

2. Fabien Canal (EC Armee de Terre)

3. Nicolas Bazin (US Domont Cyclisme)


1. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team)

2. Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (EC Stephanois)

3. Caroline Mani (CC Etupes Le Doubs PM)


2014 German National Championships Top Results:


1. Philipp Walsleben (BKCP-Powerplus)

2. Marcel Meisen (Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team)

3. Sascha Weber (Continental Cyclingteam CCI)


1. Hanka Kupfernagel (Wolfi’s Bike Shop Buggingen)

2. Elisabeth Brandau (RSC Schönaich)

3. Lisa Heckmann (VC Darmstadt 1899)


2014 British National Championships Top Results:


1. Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles)

2. Dave Fletcher (Orange Monkey)

3. Nick Craig (Scott UK)


1. Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing)

2. Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team)

3. Ffion James (Abergavenny RC)



2014 Dutch National Championships Top Results:


1. Lars van der Haar (Rabobank Development Team)

2. Corne Van Kessel (Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team)

3. Thijs van Amerongen (AA Drink Cycling Team)


1. Marianne Vos (Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team)

2. Sophie de Boer (KDL Cycling Team)

3. Sabrina Stultiens (Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team)




Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.