Meeusen, Van Der Poel Win U23, Junior Superprestige Overall – UPDATED: Full Results

Pin It

by Dan Seaton

Vorselaar, Belgium – One of the coldest cyclocross seasons on record began to wrap up with the final round of the Superprestige series, fittingly in the snow once again. In the Juniors race, Dutch rider Davd Van Der Poel took a third place finish to lock up the overall Superprestige title, while in the U23′s Tom Meeusen simply outhandled the entire field on a slick, technical course to take his fifth win of the eight-race series and the overall title as well.

Meeusen’s place in the standings was all but assured going into the week, but the U23 standout was nonetheless challenged by Jim Aernouts, who claimed third place at the end of the day. But Meeusen, who proved his skills in bad weather with a third place finish in the Elite Belgian Championships a few weeks ago, once again flashed his technical ability and controlled the race nearly from beginning to end, claiming victory, while Vincent Baestaens eventually managed to hold off Aernouts for second behind him.

In the Juniors, Van Der Poel left the fight for today’s win to Tim Merlier, who took a narrow sprint win over Diether Sweeck. The podium finishes were a surprising capper after a relatively unremarkable showing this season for Melier and Sweeck, neither of whom has stood on the podium at a Superprestige before. Meanwhile, Van Der Poel fought off a late challenge from rising Belgian star Gianni Vermeersch for the final spot on the podium.

Stay tuned to for complete results from the Elite’s final stop on the Superprestige Circuit later today.

Juniors – Full Results

1Tim Merlier (Bel)0:40:06
2Diether Sweeck (Bel)
3David van der Poel (Bel)0:00:39
4Gianni Vermeersch (Bel)
5Joeri Hofman (Bel)0:01:04
6Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)
7Laurens Sweeck (Bel)0:01:26
8Xandro Meurisse (Bel)
9Hendrik Sweeck (Bel)0:01:35
10Jon Intxausti (Spa)0:01:37
11Douwe Verberne (Ned)0:01:55
12Jens Adams (Bel)0:02:06
13Mike Teunissen (Ned)0:02:12
14Daniel Peeters (Bel)0:02:15
15Maxim Panis (Bel)0:03:10
16Toon Aerts (Bel)0:03:30
17Matthias Ballet (Bel)0:03:47
18Michael Dhondt (Bel)0:03:53
19Nick van Dijke (Ned)0:04:10
20Timo Verschueren (Bel)
21Joey van Rhee (Ned)
22Jeffrey Mellemans (Bel)
23Stef Beyers (Bel)0:05:45
24Niels Verdijck (Bel)
25Mike Van Aken (Bel)
26Robin Van den Bruel (Bel)0:07:11
27Stijn Gielen (Bel)0:07:20
28Bryan Borowski (Ned)0:07:29
29Birger Vandael (Bel)
30Alexander Verslegers (Bel)
31Ruben Van Dingenen (Bel)
32Sibe Smets (Bel)

Overall Classification

1David van der Poel (Ned)86pts
2Laurens Sweeck (Bel)78
3Mike Teunissen (Ned)77
4Michiel van der Heijden (Ned)69
5Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)66
6Jens Adams (Bel)62
7Gianni Vermeersch (Bel)51
8Danny van Poppel (Ned)50
9Xandro Meurisse (Bel)49
10Emiel Dolfsma (Ned)45
11Tim Merlier (Bel)32
12Jens Vandekinderen (Bel)29
13Diether Sweeck (Bel)27
14Joeri Hofman (Bel)23
15Jon Intxausti (Spa)17
16Michael Boros (Cze)16
17Emilien Viennet (Fra)15
18Douwe Verberne (Ned)14
19Matej Lasak (Cze)13
20Jesper Baelen (Bel)12
21Bart De Vocht (Bel)11
22Tomâs Paprstka (Cze)
23Floris De Tier (Bel)8pts
24Hendrik Sweeck (Bel)7
25Stan Godrie (Bel)
26Jeroen Meijers (Ned)5pts
27Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel)
28Frederik Geerts (Bel)4pts
29Lars Forster (Swi)3
30Dennis Heering (Ned)
31Lukas Müller (Swi)
32Maxim Panis (Bel)
33Daniel Peeters (Bel)2pts
34Daniel Vesely (Cze)
35Robin Wennekes (Ned)1

U23 – Full Results

1Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:51:09
2Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:00:26
3Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus0:01:31
4Lars van der Haar (Ned)0:01:33
5Mitchell Huenders (Ned) AA Cycling Team
6Jelle Brackman (Bel)0:01:42
7Tijmen Eising (Ned)0:01:48
8Sven Beelen (Bel) Easypay Cyclocross Team0:01:52
9Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Empella Czech Team0:02:01
10Pawel Szczepaniak (Pol) LKS Pom Strzelce Krajenskie0:02:07
11Marcel Meisen (Ger) Team Kuota – Indeland0:02:09
12Corné van Kessel (Ned)
13Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) Vendée U Pays de la Loire
14Robert Gavenda (Svk) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
15Micki van Empel (Ned)
16Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cyclingteam VZW0:02:56
17Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:03:04
18Kobus Hereygers (Ned)0:03:08
19Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)0:03:24
20Niels Koyen (Bel)0:04:09
21Vinnie Braet (Bel)0:04:15
22Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:04:22
23Kevin Cant (Bel) AVB – Cycling Team0:04:26
24Dries Pauwels (Bel)0:04:46
25Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP – Power Plus0:05:15
26Ritchie Denolf (Bel)0:05:32
27Raf Risbourg (Bel)0:06:20
28Sieën Veestraeten (Bel)0:06:45
29Vincent Van Hooste (Bel)0:05:01
30Jonathan Bervoets (Bel) Heylen Meubelcentrale Zlwc St.Tru0:07:39
31Sonny Volders (Bel)
32Bart Barkhuis (Ned) (Bel)
33Edwin Arts (Ned) (Bel)
34Niels Dirikx (Bel)
35Kevin Neirynck (Bel)
36Rutger Lahaye (Bel)
37Robin Poelvoorde (Bel)
38Klaas Vankersschaever (Bel)
39Jean-Baptiste Taleux (Fra)
40Thomas Verbeek (Bel)
41Joachim Janssens (Bel) Wk Noord West Brabant

Overall Classification

1Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team89pts
2Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus70
3Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb-Revor65
4Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cyclingteam VZW64
5Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team62
6Micki van Empel (Ned)
7Robert Gavenda (Svk) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team54
8Lars van der Haar (Ned)53
9Kacper Szczepaniak (Pol) LKS Pom Strzelce Krajenskie45
10Pawel Szczepaniak (Pol) LKS Pom Strzelce Krajenskie44
11Stef Boden (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team35
12Tijmen Eising (Ned)33
13Mitchell Huenders (Ned) AA Cycling Team28
14Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP – Power Plus
15Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) Vendée U Pays de la Loire24pts
16Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank
17Corné van Kessel (Ned)19pts
18Marcel Meisen (Ger) Team Kuota – Indeland
19Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Empella Czech Team18pts
20Sven Beelen (Bel) Easypay Cyclocross Team16
21Wietse Bosmans (Bel)15
22Kevin Cant (Bel) AVB – Cycling Team12
23Elia Silvestri (Ita)11
24Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
25Jelle Brackman (Bel) MTB Dreamteam AArtselAAr10pts
26Sascha Weber (Ger) FC Rheinland-Pfalz Flonheim9
27Twan van den Brand (Ned) Sunweb Revor Cycling Team8
28Matthieu Boulo (Fra) AC Lanester7
29Marek Konwa (Pol) LKS Trasa Zielona Góra
30Karel Hnik (Cze)3pts
31Vinnie Braet (Bel)
32Boy van Poppel (Ned) Rabobank1



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.