Baestaens Outfoxes Van der Haar for U23 Win in Asper-Gavere

Pin It

by Bart Hazen
Gavere, Belgium –Vincent Baestaens (Telenet-Fidea) took his biggest win of the season in the U23 Superprestige race in Asper-Gavere today. In another thrilling race he outsprinted European champion Lars van der Haar and Belgian champion Jim Aernouts for the win. German Marcel Meisen (fourth), Dutch Michiel van der Heijden (fifth), Joeri Adams, Wietse Bosmans, Gert-Jan Bosman, Sean de Bie and Kevin Eeckhout rounded off the top ten.

As usual it was Tijmen Eising (Sunweb-Revor) who took the lead from the start, followed by Lars van der Haar, Jim Aernouts, Vincent Baestaens, Marcel Meisen, Joeri Adams and Wietse Bosmans. The American riders Jerome Townsend and Danny Summerhill didn’t have a luck day. Townsend crashed on the first lap but was able to finish the race. Summerhill also suffered a crash and had to abandon the race after the second lap. Early reports indicate that Summerhill did not re-injure his recently separated shoulder.

From the third lap, van der Haar put the pressure on his competitors and reduced the leading group to just three riders. With five laps to go the trio of van der Haar, Aernouts and Baestaens had a 10 seconds lap on a chasing group with Marcel Meisen, Tijmen Eising, Arnaud Grand and Wietse Bosmans. Later in the same lap, Meisen, Eising and Bosmans bridged up to the front forming a new break of six riders.

Lars van der Haar didn’t approve of the swelling ranks, and the little Dutchman accelerated once again. That effort immediately dropped Eising and Meisen, later followed by Bosmans. With three laps to go Meisen refound his best legs and was able to rejoin the break again as the three in front settled down for the final push to the finish. Van der Haar and Aernouts did most of the work as Baestaens gave the impressions he couldn’t contribute.

In the final lap van der Haar kept the pressure on his rivals, again dropping Meisen off the break. Van der Haar wasn’t able to get rid of Aernouts and Baestaens, and a sprint had to decide the winner of the 2010 edition of the Superprestige race in Asper-Gavere. Baestaens took the lead before the final corner and made it a long sprint. Van der Haar tried to come along, but ended up second, with Aernouts finishing in third. Jerome Townsend and Jeremy Ferguson completed the race anonymously in 34th and 35th.

Baestaens, who hasn’t performed very consistently this season, was very pleased with his win. “This is my first big win of the season. I certainly wasn’t the strongest of the three, but the smartest. The course was passable and that suited me. On the long climb on the course it was difficult, luckily the climb wasn’t long enough to drop me.” On the final sprint he said, “I took the front position on purpose before the final lap. I wanted to surprise them with a long sprint, and I succeeded in that.”

Van der Haar was disappointed after the race. “Again second. I didn’t take the last corner very well, and Baestaens created a gap. It’s a pity, but my own mistake. Aernouts and I were the strongest today with Vincent giving impressions that he couldn’t go any better.”

In the overall ranking for the Superprestige Jim Aernouts retains in the lead. Van der Haar and Adams are second and third, respectively.

The youth races were won by Jens Vandekinderen (Juniors) and Mathieu van der Poel (Beginners).

U23 Results:

1Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:48:35
2Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
3Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:05
4Marcel Meisen (Ger)0:00:15
5Michiel van der Heyden0:00:20
6Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:00:30
7Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:33
8Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)0:00:40
9Sean De Bie (Bel)0:00:45
10Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:50
11Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
12Micki van Empel (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:00:57
13Corné van Kessel (Ned)0:01:05
14Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor0:01:16
15Karel Hník (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:20
16Twan van den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:01:39
17Jens Adams (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:01:50
18Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
19Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:02:00
20Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
21Matteo Trentin (Ita)
22Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:02:10
23Matthias Bossuyt (Bel)
24Jelle Brackman (Bel) MTB dreamteam0:02:29
25Jirí Polnický (Cze) Sunweb – Revor
26Kristof Cop (Bel)0:02:40
27Angelo De Clercq (Bel)
28Kobus Hereijgers (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:02:55
29Floris De Tier (Bel) Baboco – Revor Cycling Team0:03:10
30Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Cycling Champs
31Ritchie Denolf (Bel)
32Niels Koyen (Bel)0:04:36
33Robby Cobbaert (Bel) SDC – Rogelli Cycling Team0:04:40
34Jerome Townsend (USA) / Joe’s Garage / Scott
35Jeremy Ferguson (USA) California Giant-Specialized
36Maurits Lammertink (Ned)0:05:00
37Matthias Boetens (Bel)0:05:50
38Bart Barkhuis (Ned) WV Meteoor Assen-Roden
39Raf Risbourg (Bel)0:06:00
40David van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus
41Dimitri Corriette (Fra)
42Dario Stauble (Swi)
43Ingmar Uytdewilligen (Bel)
44Tim Merlier (Bel)
45Bjorn Peers (Bel)
46Stijn Heyse (Bel) Team CATA bikes bianchi
47Michaël Derille (Bel)
48Frederick Catrysse (Bel)
49Goran Deregnaucourt (Fra)
50Jürgen Vrancken (Bel)
DNFJoeri Hofman (Bel)
DNFSven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
DNFDany Lacroix (Bel)
DNFHendrik Sweeck (Bel)
DNFDaniel Summerhill (USA) Garmin/Team Holowesko Partners

Juniors Results

1Jens Vandekinderen (Bel)0:41:53
2Danny van Poppel (Ned)0:00:16
3Laurens Sweeck (Bel)
4Daniel Peeters (Bel)0:00:29
5Jaap de Man (Ned)0:00:49
6Diether Sweeck (Bel)0:01:00
7Daan Soete (Bel)0:01:02
8Stan Goderie (Ned)0:01:19
9Matthias Van de Velde (Bel)0:01:31
10Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel)0:01:36
11Yannick Eckmann (Ger) Hot Tubes0:02:09
12Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel)
13Wout van Aert (Ned)0:02:24
14Toon Aerts (Bel)0:02:27
15Douwe Verberne (Ned)0:02:36
16Jorn Claes (Bel)0:02:55
17Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel)0:03:04
18Koen Weijers (Ned)0:03:08
19Pjotr van Beek (Ned)0:03:20
20Hugo Robinson (GBr)0:03:30
21Twan Brusselman (Ned)0:03:51
22Tim Ariesen (Ned)
23Jens Couckuyt (Bel)0:04:36
24Karel Delfosse (Bel)0:04:57
25Erik Kramer (Ned)0:05:19
26Lorenzo Pepermans (Bel)0:05:28
27Thibaut Vandekerckhove (Bel)0:05:32
28Glenn Maes (Bel)0:05:48
29Niels Ooms (Bel)0:06:00
30Mike De Bie (Bel)0:08:35
31Michael Dhondt (Bel)
32Mike Boer (Ned)
33Mathias Ballet (Bel)
34Braam Merlier (Bel)
35Karl Hoppner (Can)
36Thybo Notredame (Bel)
37Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel)
38Bryan Vispoel (Bel)
39Jellen Schiettecatte (Bel)
40Nicky Gieskens (Bel)
41Korneel De Viaene (Bel)
42Glenn Vissers (Bel)
43Yolan Brems (Bel)
44Arno Brocatus (Bel)
45Jens Verhaegen (Bel)
46Dieter Coussens (Bel)
47Corentin Torzewski (Fra)
48Stijn Versteven (Bel)
49Jeroen Vandewyngaerde (Bel)



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.