After launching the Helen 100 Trophy for Junior Women at last year’s Azencross Loenhout, the series returned in 2019/20 in full force.

The first Helen 100 race of the season took place during the Trek CX Cup back in September, where Bridget Tooley (Easton / Giant p/b Transitions LifeCare) won the race in front of the series’ eponymous sponsor.

The Helen100 series kicked off at the Trek CX Cup in September. 2019 Helen100 Junior Women's Race, Trek CX Cup. © Z. Schuster / Cyclocross Magazine

The Helen100 series kicked off at the Trek CX Cup in September. 2019 Helen100 Junior Women’s Race, Trek CX Cup. © Z. Schuster / Cyclocross Magazine

The four-race Euro block for the Helen 100 is in full swing. It kicked off with a race at Ronse on December 14, continued with today’s Azencross Loenhout and wraps up at GP Sven Nys and Brussels Universities Cyclocross in January.

A number of North American riders were in Loenhout for Friday’s race, and they put their mark on the second race of the series.

Lizzy Gunsalus (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld) took the win with a strong closing lap.

Zoe Backstedt of Great Britain finished second and Fem van Empel of the Netherlands took third.

U.S. Junior National Champ Madigan Munro (Boulder Junior Cycling) finished just off the podium in fourth. Lauren Zoerner (Alpha Bicycle – Groove Subaru) finished 8th, Michaela Thompson (Boulder Junior Cycling) 28th, Skyler Bovine (CX Hairs Devo / Trek Bikes) 34th, Kelly Lawson (Hardwood Next Wave) 37th, Eli Dyas (JA King Cyclocross) 42nd, Claire Steciuk (Hardwood Next Wave) 46th and Ryley Mosher (Wheelworks) 49th.

Full results are below.

Junior Women Results: 2019 Azencross Helen 100 Trophy

1Lizzy GunsalusUSA28:06
2Zoe BackstedtGBR+0:06
3Fem van EmpelNED+0:07
4Madigan MunroUSA+0:09
5Leonie BentveldNED+0:14
6Ilse PluimersNED+0:34
7Karolina BedrnikovaCZE+0:52
8Lauren ZoernerUSA+0:53
9Mirre KnavenNED+0:54
10Clea SeidelGER+0:56
11Isa NomdenNED+1:07
12Lauren MolengraafNED+1:10
13Lucia BramatiITA+1:14
14Lisa Van HelvoirtBEL+1:26
15Senne KnavenNED+1:27
16Kristyna ZemanovaCZE+1:37
17Maddie WadsworthGBR+1:51
18Julia KopeckyNED+1:59
19Maria Parajon FuentesESP+1:59
20Britt de GraveNED+2:12
21Mirth van den BrandeBEL+2:12
22Giada BorghesiITA+2:19
23Lotte BaeleBEL+2:22
24Pem HoefmansNED+2:22
25Alma JohanssonSWE+2:22
26Bibi VerzijlNED+2:25
27Britt KersteBEL+2:36
28Michaela ThompsonUSA+2:42
29Kimberly BovenNED+2:42
30Julie BrouwersBEL+2:43
31Yenthe Van LommelBEL+2:55
32Xenna de BruyckereBEL+2:58
33Lotta MansfieldGBR+2:58
34Skylar BovineUSA+3:01
35Melissa RouillerSUI+3:17
36Julie LillelundDEN+3:22
37Kelly LawsonCAN+3:23
38Danielle QuintNED+3:26
39Laura Lizette SanderSLO+3:45
40Lucie CottierSUI+3:47
41Nance van der DriftNED+3:49
42Eleanor DyasUSA+3:58
43Jana Van der VekenBEL+4:06
44Roisin LallyGBR+4:07
45Anna VanderaerdenBEL+4:13
46Claire SteciukCAN+4:20
47Kiona DhontBEL+4:20
48Lies’l SchevenelsBEL+4:38
49Ryley MosherUSA+5:02
50Dina BoelsBEL+5:05
51Pell HarleyGBR+5:19
52Frederique VerschuurNED+5:20
53Lore SasBEL+5:46
54Noa StolkNED+6:24
55Amy CanteloGBR+6:37
56Freya EvansGBR+6:51
57Jacobien ViveenNED+7:17
58Michelle DarconBEL+8:10
59Elena DayGBR+8:11
60Rosalie JanssensBEL+8:30
61Geerie de BruinNED+8:43