Tom Meeusen reeling in the leader © Bart Hazen

Tom Meeusen reeling in the leader © Bart Hazen

Tom Meeusen and Daphny van den Brand have take their first wins of the season in the Kiremko Nacht van Woerden. Both won solo in the night race under the lights.

by Bart Hazen

Woerden, Netherlands – Belgian Tom Meeusen took his first win of the season in the 2010 Kiremko Nacht van Woerden. The Telenet-Fidea rider, added to the field a day before the race due to illness of his teammate Bart Wellens, was too strong for the Rabobank-Giant Offroad duo of Bart Aernouts and Gerben de Knegt. Christophe Pfingsten and Tom van den Bosch finished as fourth and fifth. British rider Ian Field had an impressive ride to snag sixth place. Both Meeusen and Tom Peeters had also been controversially left off of the Belgian World Cup contingent, which is limited to eight riders per country.

Dutchmen Gerben de Knegt and Thijs van Amerongen took the holeshot, followed by Bart Aernouts, Christophe Pfingsten and British Ian Field, among others. The strong and surprising Pfingsten took control in the second lap and led the race for about three laps, followed by a large group with the favorites Aernouts, Meeusen, de Knegt and Dieter Vanthourenhout.

Bart Aernouts would claim another second place © Bart Hazen

Bart Aernouts would claim another second place © Bart Hazen

About halfway through the race, Aernouts took control. Meeusen took over one lap later, and Aernouts wasn’t able to follow the pace of the young Belgian. Aernouts dropped back to the chasing duo De Knegt and Pfingsten in the battle for second.

The impressing Meeusen extended his lead lap by lap and was making a real one-man show of it. He was even animating the public by jumping over the planks on the course. The battle for second was  decided in the final lap when Aernouts attacked his companions on the barriers.

Meeusen was excited by his first Elite win. “I’m very happy with this win. It’s my first win in an A-Cross. Last year I was close several times between racing the pros and the U23s,” says Meeusen. “I had a bad start, but once I got in front I quickly created a gap on my competitors. The past weeks I trained hard as I wasn’t selected for the first two World Cups, but all the work luckily paid off.” Aernouts took his third second place of the season after Erpe-Mere and Ruddervoorde. “It didn’t go badly today, but I wasn’t super. It was a course with lots of turns, and I couldn’t answer the attack of Tom. He just was a little better today. The feeling is still good and I am going to make the best of it in the next races.”

The win in the U23 race went to Twan van den Brand. Micki van Empel finished in second, with Mike Teunissen third. 

Van den Brand on the run © Bart Hazen

Van den Brand on the run © Bart Hazen

Van den Brand beats Van Paassen
Daphny van den Brand (ZZPR) took her first win of the season in Woerden after four second places. Van den Brand profited from a small mistake by Sanne van Paassen in the final lap. Britain’s Helen Wyman finished third, Pavla Havlikova fourth and Sanne Cant filled out the top five. Van den Brand and van Paassen animated the race from start to finish. Dutch Reza Hormed was less fortunate as she crashed badly and had to be transfered to the hospital.

“It’s a special win”, said Van den Brand. “It’s the only night ’cross, and it just has something special. The course was slippery due to the rain and it was necessary to take fewer risks in the corners. In the final lap I guess Sanne took a little too many risks as she went down in one of the corners.”

Cyclocross Magazine regular contributor had a strong ride to claim 20th, the last point-scoring position.

The wins in the other races went to Sabrina Stultiens (Junior Women), Evy Kuipers (Beginner Women) and Danny van Poppel (Junior Women). Full results beneath the Photo Gallery.

Photo Gallery:

Full Elite Results:


Rank. Racer Team
1. Daphny Van Den Brand 25
2. Sanne Van Paassen Brainwash 23
3. Helen Wyman 21
4. Pavla Havlikova 19
5. Sanne Cant Bkcp-powerplus 17
6. Arenda Grimberg Merida Cycling Team 15
7. Sabrina Stultiens Brainwash 14
8. Sophie De Boer ZZPR Destil Prolease Merida 13
9. Linda Van Rijen W.V. Eemland 12
10. Nikki Harris 11
11. Joyce Vanderbeken 10
12. Tessa Van Nieuwpoort Batavus Ladies Cycling Team 9
13. Helena Van Leijen W.V. Eemland 8
14. Nancy Bober 7
15. Lana Verberne RTC Buitenlust 6
16. Evy Kuijpers Brainwash 5
17. Hielke Elferink HWV De Tubanters 4
18. Britt Jochems Jagersveld Cycling Team 3
19. Dirkje Bazuin Restore Cycling 2
20. Christine Vardaros 1
21. Maud Kaptheijns TWC De Kempen
22. Mika Ogishima UWTC De Volharding
23. Bianca Van Den Hoek W.V. Eemland
24. Iris Ockeloen DRC De Mol
25. Kim Banga
26. Annefleur Kalvenhaar AWV De Zwaluwen
27. Julia Schobben GRC Jan Van Arckel
28. Lotte Eikelenboom DRC De Mol
29. Lizzy Witlox TWC Tempo
30. Nadine Liebe RTC Buitenlust
31. Joyce Van Der Peet Restore Cycling
32. Marjolein Claessen RSC De Zuidwesthoek
33. Ilona Valkenburg
34. Lija Laizane
35. Madara Furmane
36. Romy Adegeest WTC Woerden – Rietveld
37. Pernilla Van Rozelaar Hoornse Ren En Toerclub
38. Yulia Van Der Lee WTC Woerden – Rietveld
39. Anne Peer WV Uden
DNF Reza Hormes Ravenstijn ZZPR Destil Prolease Merida
DNF Katrien Vermeiren Emversport International Cycling Team
DNF Liga Smite
DNF Veerle Goossens


Rank Racer Team
1. Tom Meeusen Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 25
2. Bart Aernouts Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team 23
3. Gerben De Knegt Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team 21
4. Christoph Pfingsten Van Vliet – EBH Elshof 19
5. Tom Van Den Bosch AA Cycling Team 17
6. Ian Field 15
7. Patrick Van Leeuwen TWC De Kempen 14
8. Dieter Vanthourenhout Bkcp-powerplus 13
9. Eddy Van Ijzendoorn JvR De Batauwers 12
10. Mitchell Huenders Wv Noord-holland 11
11. Mariusz Gil 10
12. Twan Van Den Brand WV Schijndel 9
13. Sascha Weber 8
14. Micki Van Empel Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 7
15. Marco Bianco 6
16. Thijs Van Amerongen AA Cycling Team 5
17. Ben Berden Qin Cycling Team 4
18. Mike Teunissen Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team 3
19. Ole Quast 2
20. Kenneth Van Compernolle Sunweb – Revor 1
21. Wilant Van Gils WV Schijndel
22. Geert Wellens
23. Thijs Al AA Cycling Team
24. Kevin Cant
25. Kobus Hereijgers ZZPR Destil Prolease Merida
26. Rikke Dijkxhoorn Van Vliet – EBH Elshof
27. Maurits Lammertink WV De Jonge Renner
28. Bart Verschueren
29. Bram Schmitz Van Vliet – EBH Elshof
30. Nils Van Kooij Team Rojo – Specialized
31. Rene Birkenfeld
DNF Dirk Van De Craats Grontmij-team Amsterdam
DNF Patrick De Laat F.M.C. The Whoopers
DNF Jordy Luisman RSE Cycling Team
DNF Kaey Van Rij PRC Delta
DNF Bart Barkhuis WV Meteoor Assen-Roden
DNF Axel Dekker W.V. Eemland
DNF Patrick Van Nunen RTC De Hoekse Renners
DNF Bas Oude Elferink RTC De Hoekse Renners
DNF Enno Quast
DNF Jeffrey Vink WV De Valleirenners AXA
DNF Johannes Sickmuller
DNF Robin Huizinga PRC Delta