by David Hutton and Joan Hanscom

LOUISVILLE, KY – After a dominant showing from the Luna girls and a sprint finish between Ryan Trebon (Kona) and Jamey Driscoll ( on Day 1,  attention was being drawn to Louisville’s Champions Park for Day two of the U.S. Grand Prix of Cyclocross.  With muddy conditions and big crowds, dramatic racing was in store for day 2 of the Derby City for the second stop of the U.S. Grand Prix of Cyclocross series.

Elite Women

Sunday’s Elite women’s race followed a similar pattern to the previous day’s events with the Luna group of Georgia Gould, Katerina Nash, and Alison Dunlap looking to dominate again.  The three were accompanied by 22 year-old Amy Dombroski (Richard Sachs-RGM Watches-Radix), and for the entire race, the Espoir National Champion was looking to break the Luna podium sweep as she did in Saturday’s race.

Nash quickly attacked her way off the front of the race, time trialing to her second consecutive win of the weekend. Behind Dombroski put in several violent attacks to try and distance herself from the six-time national champion Dunlap, and Gould.  The Luna duo proved up to the task, repeatedly working together to bring back the young talent.

With the race coming back together for second place, Dombroski seemed to be along for a ride for fourth place against the Luna teammates.  But into the final corner Dombroski took matters into her own hands, not willing to settle for less than a podium spot, taking a risky approach into the muddy final corner.  The risk paid off as she hit the pavement first, surprising the Luna duo, taking second over Dunlap in a bike throw to the line.

Dunlap, having just been pipped at the line for second, walked away from the weekend with the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider award.

Elite Men

After day one’s finish, where Kona’s Ryan Trebon pulled a come-from-behind victory from the trio, it was clearly going to be a battle to the finish with Powers, Johnson, and Driscoll looking for redemption from the prior days win by their Kona rival.

As expected took control at the front of the race early with Jeremy Powers quickly making his way off the front of the race.  As with previous races, was looking to take the race by the throat putting multiple riders off the front together.  Johnson made the best of a disorganized chase and bridged to his teammate Powers.  The pair quickly went to work together, putting pressure on U.S. Grand Prix leader and current U.S. National Champion Ryan Trebon.

To no one’s surprise it was Trebon who went to the front of the race to bring everything back together, but disaster struck on one of the back stretches of the course where Trebon went down hard.  It was clear the fall shook Trebon as we was slow to get back on his feet and back on his bike, refusing medical assistance in the process.

Working back through riders, Trebon again took a spill, caused by his front wheel collapsing after it was damaged in the prior crash.  This proved to be the knockout blow to Trebon who withdrew from the race in the leader’s jersey.

By the end of the day’s Driscoll would be the proud wearer of the jersey.

Back at the front of the race Johnson set a pace that Powers couldn’t hold.  It was clear that was going to make it known that they were a force to be reckoned with when Driscoll quickly worked off the front to join his teammate Powers until the final lap.

Johnson rolled to a clear victory with teammates Driscoll and Powers finishing up the podium with second and third place.

Behind a battle for fourth was raging between Berry Wicks (Kona), Jesse Anthony (Jamis), Geoff Kabush (Maxxis- Rocky Mountain), Nicholas Weighall (California Giant- Specialized), and Chris Jones (Champion Systems).  Kabush repeatedly tried to put space between him and the group jumping away repeatedly throughout the race only to be pulled back.  Finally Kabush snapped free of his fellow chasers for fourth with up an coming head turner Jones finishing fifth followed by Wicks, Weighall, and Anthony.

For his efforts Kabush walked away with the $250 check from SRAM as the Most Aggressive Rider on the day.

Video highlights, courtesy of Cycling Dirt:



Full race results can be found here.

The next stop of the third round of the U.S. Grand Prix of Cyclocross makes its way North to Mercer Co. New Jersey on Nov. 14-15.  The Mercer Cup is known for seasonal mud and hard racing. Check back with Cyclocross Magazine for coverage leading up to, during, and following the next stop of the 2009 U.S. Grand Prix of Cyclocross.

Elite Men:

Rank Name Nat. Age* Result PaR PcR
1 Timothy JOHNSON USA 33 1:04:52 30 30
2 James DRISCOLL USA 24 1:05:52 20 20
3 Jeremy POWERS USA 27 1:06:01 15 0**
4 Geoff KABUSH CAN 33 1:06:16 12 12
5 Christopher JONES USA 31 1:06:37 10 10
6 Barry WICKS USA 29 1:07:00 8 0**
7 Nicholas WEIGHALL USA 23 1:07:57 6 6
8 Jesse ANTHONY USA 25 1:08:05 4 4
9 Davide FRATTINI ITA 32 1:08:20 2 2
10 Marko LALONDE USA 28 1:08:20 1 1
11 Brian MATTER USA 32 1:08:24
12 Adam MCGRATH USA 23 1:09:04
13 Adam BERGMAN USA 30 1:09:27
14 Justin ROBINSON USA 35 1:10:41
15 Troy WELLS USA 26 1:10:49
16 Travis LIVERMON USA 22 1:11:03
17 David HACKWORTH USA 21 1:11:28
18 Brady KAPPIUS USA 23 1:11:34
19 Jack HINKENS USA 19 1:11:34
20 Joshua BERRY USA 20 1:11:41
21 Bryan FAWLEY USA 25 1:12:25
22 Eric MUEHL USA 25 1:12:26
23 Mitchell KERSTING USA 25 1:12:39
24 Joseph SCHMALZ USA 20 1:12:46
25 Eric WONDERGEM USA 33 1:12:58
26 Ben POPPER USA 28 1:15:17
27 Will BLACK USA 43
28 Andrew REARDON USA 28
29 Andrew LLEWELLYN USA 20
30 Noah METZLER USA 23
32 Christopher BOGEDIN USA 21
33 Nate RICE USA 32
34 Brad COLE USA 29
35 Isaac NEFF USA 24
36 Kip SPAUDE USA 23
37 Clayton OMER USA 20
39 Robert KENDALL USA 39
40 Michael HEMME USA 31
41 Matthew DAVIS USA 28
42 Matthew WILLING USA 24
43 Derek STRONG USA 36
44 Katriel STATMAN USA 24
45 Zachary EDWARDS USA 21
46 Jacob VIROSTKO USA 28
47 Dustin GREER USA 24
48 Bill STREET USA 25

SRAM Most Aggressive Rider:  Geoff Kabush

Elite Women:

Rank Name Nat. Age* Result PaR PcR
1 Katerina NASH CZE 33 40:40 20 20
2 Amy DOMBROSKI USA 23 41:01 15 15
3 Alison DUNLAP USA 41 41:01 12 12
4 Georgia GOULD USA 30 41:05 10 10
5 Alison SYDOR CAN 44 41:44 8 8
6 Susan BUTLER USA 39 42:04 5 5
7 Kari STUDLEY USA 30 42:25 4 4
8 Kristin WENTWORTH USA 31 42:51 3 3
9 Meredith MILLER USA 37 43:25 2 2
10 Kaitlin ANTONNEAU USA 18 43:31 1 1
11 Devon HASKELL USA 29 43:42
12 Kimberly FLYNN USA 38 44:18
13 Wendy WILLIAMS USA 41 44:30
14 Elizabeth FRYE USA 41 44:49
15 Nicole BOREM USA 34 45:03
16 Lisa STRONG USA 36 45:14
17 Marne SMILEY USA 28 45:58
18 Ashley JAMES USA 20 46:08
19 Robin WILLIAMS USA 31 46:13
20 Andrea WILSON USA 29 46:26
21 Corey COOGAN USA 33 48:22
22 Lauri WEBBER USA 46 48:57
23 Dayna DEUTER USA 39 49:03
24 Therese MEEK USA 27 49:17
25 Bridget DONOVAN USA 32 49:48
26 Becca FINLEY USA 22
27 Kristin Jo MARKHAM USA 24
28 Whitney KROLL USA 20

SRAM Most Aggressive Rider : Alison Dunlap