Amy Bradley, winner of the women's race. Photo courtesy of Brendan Bailey

Amy Bradley, winner of the women's race. Photo courtesy of Brendan Bailey

Aussies are making headlines all over the world today, since one of their own — Cadel Evans, for those of you who’ve been living under a rock — has all but won the Tour de France, making him the first Australian to claim the yellow jersey.

However, while the roadies are focused on the Tour, there are quite a few Australians with other sports in mind. In the Land Down Under, it’s cyclocross season. So for all of you looking for a ’cross fix, consider a trip to the land down under. If you can’t make it across the globe, check out Brendan Bailey’s race report for Dirty Deeds Urban Cyclocross. Dirty Deeds Urban Cyclocross started last year in Australia, and announced another series this year back in May. For more hilarious race reports, check out last August’s series.

by Brendan Bailey

Lewis Rattray has continued his dominance of the Dirty Deeds Cyclocross Series, taking out the second race at Jackson Reserve on Sunday.

My Mountain’s Matt Gray led for the first lap, but Rattray was on his wheel from the get-go, and stole the lead from Matt on his second journey down the finishing straight. After his valiant effort, Gray faded quickly through the pack, eventually coming home to finish in fourth. Newcomer Michael Crosbie from Swim-Bike-Run, fresh from his scolding at the hands of the officials, caused a pile-up when he tripped over the first barrier on the first lap, but rode strongly to take second place, with the recently promoted from B-Grade Simon Carey from Cycling Edge taking out third. Rattray’s second consecutive win means that he has placed a lock on the overall CX prize – he merely needs to show up and the coveted blue sash will be his.

Emma Caddy receives a helping hand. by Andy Rogers

Emma Caddy receives a helping hand. © Andy Rogers

In the women’s race, Emma Caddy was nowhere to be seen as Amy Bradley and Nadine Le Mescan battled it out for first place. The number one position changed hands a number of times during the race, but eventually Bradley took it out, with Le Mescan eventually fading to third as a strong-finishing Diane Nelson blazed into second place. Jess Steger showed her spirit in this race, fighting her way around the course on a bike that Erle Pavlis dragged out of hard rubbish and threw together, and earned a one-year subscription to Treadlie for her trouble.

The support races were once again a close-fought affair. In the B-Grade Cyclocross class it was a battle of the master’s trackies, with Bairnsdale’s Sprint Champion Gary Jennings taking the goodies for first place. Noted track-endurance specialist Steven Young came second and Neville Bird came third. Also in this race was Tim Nexus, who organizers later agreed was awarded the attitude award for the day, putting him in the running for a sweet Specialized Crux, courtesy of the Fitzroy Revolution.

Adam Trewin by Andy Rogers

Adam Trewin gets "dirty." © Andy Rogers

In the Open Categories (for those without cyclocross bikes) Merida Flight Centre’s Adrian Jackson took an early lead and didn’t let it go, despite being chased heroically by Kosdown’s Cam McKenzie. Sam Beck made his return on a weird BMX tandem which his mate Lunchbox broke on the second remount – they did, however, each win a one-year subscription to Treadlie for their trouble. Brunswick’s Michael Sparke seemed to have stolen a bike from a ten year old girl, donned a devil outfit (complete with trident), and made a decision to ride today, perhaps showing the representatives of the crowd up on the hill what being satanic was really about. Eitherway, he took out the coveted CX ridiculousness award, winning a frame from Larry’s Custom Cycles. Jarrod Kohlan placed third. And in the women’s open category Amity McSwann once again proved herself the one to beat, taking an easy win from Catherine Fraser-Smith, with Lisa Jackson third.

The one-two punch from Trailmix again took out the boy’s race, with the placings being reversed: Liam Jeffries took it out, with Sam Wilson (who appears too old for this category) coming home second in good humor. Adam Blazevic placed third.

In the girl’s class, Brunswick’s Emily Hughes, who only last year defeated Commonwealth Games Keirin gold medallist Josiah Ng in a roller race, continued her successful run by taking out first. This created an awkward situation as she was also the podium girl, and had to present herself a prize. Hannah Campbell took second, and the extremely excitable Georgia Wilson danced her way to third place.

A Grade Results

1. Lewis RATTRAY

Lewis Rattray shows his winning form. by Brian Mangano

Lewis Rattray shows his winning form. by Brian Mangano

2. Michael CROSBIE

3. Simon CAREY

4. Matt GRAY

5. Andrew BLAIR


7. Steven WAITE

8. Allan IACUORE

9. Nicholas EDWARDS

10. Warrack LEACH