Riders were jumping for joy that the season is underway. ©

Riders were jumping for joy that the season is underway. ©

by Jeffrey Bramhall

The second race in the Verge New England Championship Cyclo-Cross Series presented by Cycle Smart saw a repeat of Tim Johnson’s ( domination while Andrea Smith (Ladies First) took her first-ever UCI win.

The Elite Women’s race was clearly owned by the Ladies First cycling team, with Andrea Smith taking victory and teammates Ann D’Ambruoso and Christina Tamilio second and third, respectively. Yet another Ladies First racer, yesterday’s runner-up, Crystal Anthony, took fourth place. For Smith, the victory was sweet, but her team’s showing was even more important. “Today was three years in the making,” said Smith, referring to the team’s beginnings as several women related to Landry’s Bicycles, members of Minuteman Road Club and coached by Larry Felton. For each racer on the podium, today’s was each racer’s best result in a UCI race. While Smith was solo off the front, having taken advantage of mishaps by Sara Bresnick-Zocchi ( and Rebecca Blatt (Silver Bull-Central Wheel), the remaining three Ladies First racers were forced to sprint for the second and third steps of the podium. Anthony, having bested Mo Bruno-Roy yesterday in a sprint, was overtaken by her teammates today and finished fourth. For the first time in her cycling career, the Verge NECCS leader’s jersey moved to the shoulders of Andrea Smith.

The Elite Men’s race was almost a carbon copy of yesterday’s race, with Tim Johnson taking an early lead and holding it the whole day. Behind Johnson, the chase today was more dynamic with a strong trio of racers working to bring the leader back. Luca Damiani (El Gato CX p/b Podium Cycling) once again was on the hunt, today joined by Justin Lindine ( and Justin Spinelli (Richard Sachs-RGM Watches-Radix). Like yesterday, Damiani was the strongest of the chase and came through second after dropping his companions on the last lap. Lindine managed to put some space behind him, taking third and relegating the resurgent Spinelli to fourth. The sprint for fifth place determined today’s U-23 winner as Luke Keough (Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross) held off Jerome Townsend (’s Garage-Scott) with Jesse Keough (Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross) third.

Once again, Roger Aspholm (Westwood Velo) imposed his will on the Masters 35+ field for his second victory of the weekend. Behind him was Kevin Hines (Corner Cycle) with’s Kurt Perham coming across third. Jonny Bold’s (Corner Cycle) fourth brought up thoughts that he hasn’t fully healed from his crash at Masters Nationals.

The 45+ field was once again won by Erich Gutbier (CCC Keltic Construction-Zane’s Cycles), today beating out Mark Gunsalus (Team Fuji-Clif Bar) and John Mosher (Wheelworks Racing) in a three-way sprint. The 55+ victor was, once again, CCB’s Tim Groesback and he, once again, bested Ed Hamel (Joe’s Garage), though today in a sprint, and David Rath (Corner Cycle). Karl Hoppner (EMD Serono-Specialized) took a solo victory in the U-19 field. Behind him, Curtis White (Clif Bar Development Cyclocross Team) came across in second for the second time on the weekend, and Nate Morse (CL
Noonan) finished third.

The Women’s 3/4 field continued to prove itself an exciting new addition to the series. Today’s race finished with an elite group of four powering away. Emma White ( bested Kathy Savary (Blue Steel Cyclery), Elizabeth Lukowshi ( and Nancy Labbe-Giguere (Ladies First), who finished second, third and fourth respectively.

Full Results

Elite Women

Place First Name Last Name Team
1 Andrea Smith LadiesFirst Racing
2 Ann D’Ambruoso LadiesFirst Racing
3 Christina Tamilio LadiesFirst Racing
4 Crystal Anthony LadiesFirst Racing
5 Sara Bresnick-Zocchi
6 Rebecca Blatt Silver Bull/Central Wheel
7 Rebecca Wellons Pedro’s
8 Kris Walker Contender
9 Anna Barensfeld LadiesFirst Racing
10 Katerine Northcott
11 Sophie Matte Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery
12 Allison Snooks LadiesFirst Racing
13 Marilyn Ruseckas Seven Cycles
14 Joanne Thomson Ride With Rendall
15 Sarah Krzysiak / CBRC
16 Melissa Bunn Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery
17 Jessica Hayes Conroy North American Velo
18 Giulia Righi Silver Bull/Central Wheel
19 Darcy Foley MTBMind
20 Linnea Koons Embrocation Cycling Journal

Elite Men

Place U23 Time First Name Last Name Team
1 0:59:03 Timothy Johnson Cannondale/
2 1:00:03 Luca Damiani Colavita Sutter Home p/b CookingLight
3 1:00:06 Justin Lindine / Cannondale
4 1:01:14 Justin Spinelli Richard Sachs/RGM Watches/Radix
5 1 1:01:51 Luke Keough Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross
6 2 1:01:51 Jerome Townsend / Joe’s Garage / Scott
7 1:02:02 Philip Wong Antero Resources – Seaside Cycle
8 1:02:49 Joachim Parbo KCH Leopard Cycles
9 1:03:00 Adam Myerson Cycle-Smart
10 1:03:09 Matthew O’Keefe
11 1:03:42 Dylan McNicholas PEDROS
12 1:03:42 Peter Bradshaw Embrocation Cycling Journal
13 1:03:42 Kevin Sweeney p/b JRA Cycles
14 1:04:00 Christian Favata Favata’s Tablerock Tours and Bikes
15 1:04:28 Ian Brown City Bicycles/Oatmeal Enthusiast Quarterly
16 3 1:04:33 Jesse Keough Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross
17 4 1:04:33 Manny Goguen / Joe’s Garage / Scott
18 1:04:45 Noah Niwinski Boone Velo
19 1:04:45 Shawn Adamson Cycle-Smart
20 1:04:45 Adam Sullivan Wheelhouse / NCC
21 1:05:17 Brian Lawney Cambridge Bicycle
22 1:05:24 Thierry Laliberte Xprezo-Borsao
23 1:05:34 Greg Whitney B2C2 p/b Boloco
24 1:06:08 Cary Fridrich Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy
25 1:06:26 Evan Huff Wheelhouse / NCC
26 1:07:20 Josh Dillon Richard Sachs/RGM Watches/Radix
27 1:07:37 Stephen Pierce Cambridge Bicycle / Igleheart Frames
28 1:09:37 Dan Chabanov / CBRC
29 2 laps Graham Garber Silver Bull/Central Wheel
30 5 2 laps Nicholas Keough Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross
31 2 laps David Wilcox PEDROS
32 6 2 laps Matteo Dal-Cin
33 2 laps Colin Reuter p/b JRA Cycles
34 7 2 laps Matthew Green Spooky Bikes
35 2 laps John Burns
36 8 2 laps Collin Huston Moots
37 3 laps John Hanson Silver Bull/Central Wheel
38 9 3 laps Joshua Lehmann Pedro’s Race Team
39 10 4 laps Seamus Powell
40 4 laps Pierre Vanden Borre Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy
41 11 4 laps Kiernan Orange Ride with Rendall
42 12 5 laps Conor O’Brien EMD Serono Specialized
43 6 laps Danny Zotter Team ROG
44 dnf Jake Keough Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross

Photo Gallery

The 2010 Verge New England Championship Cyclo-Cross Series will be contested over five weekends. Rounds one and two will take place in Williston, VT at the Green Mountain Cyclocross Weekend on September 18 and 19.  Rounds three and four will be Downeast Cyclocross in New Gloucester, Maine on October 23 and 24. The 20th Edition of the Cycle Smart International will be rounds five and six on November 6 and 7 in Northampton, MA. Bay State Cyclocross and the NBX GP of Cross will hold the final four rounds of the series in Sterling, MA on November 28 and 29 and in Warwick, RI on December 4 and 5, respectively. This year’s series is generously supported by Verge Sport, makers of fine cycling clothing and products since 1993; by Bob’s Red Mill, producers of whole grain foods for every meal of the day; by Cycle-Smart, purveyors of personalized cycling coaching and solutions for riders across the country; by, the official online registration service of the NECCS; by Pedal Power Photography, the official photographer of the NECCS; by, the internet’s premier race result and ranking resource; by Challenge, makers of professional level tubulars and open tubulars and by Ryders Eyewear, sport-specific and performance eyewear. You can visit these sponsors and get more information on the series by going to the web at The series can also be followed on Facebook and Twitter.