The 2021 Kings CX Day 1 in Cincinnati, Ohio crowned a new king of U.S. cyclocross, at least for a day.

The race came down to a two-man battle between Eric Brunner and Kerry Werner. The two were back-and-forth with a thrilling last lap, and entered the final barriers, right before the finish straight, side-by-side.

Brunner emerged unscathed, while Werner, unfortunately, did his best Quinten Hermans impersonation.

Curtis White finished third.

The weekend represents the final two races of the USCX cyclocross series.

Notable names missing from the race were National Champ Gage Hecht and former National Champ Stephen Hyde.

See the full results below. Full Elite Women’s results from the 2021 Kings CX UCI C1 Day 1 are here.

2021 Kings CX Cincy Cyclocross Results Day 1: Elite Men

16Eric BrunnerBlue Competition Cycles p/b Bui1:00:279
21Kerry WernerKona Maxxis Shimano1:00:449
32Curtis WhiteCannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.1:00:599
412Andrew StrohmeyerCX Hairs Devo: Trek Bikes1:01:129
58Brannan FixFix Racing1:01:179
617Tobin OrtenbladSanta Cruz Bicycles1:01:309
74Gosse Van Der Meer1:01:359
83Michael van den HamEaston Giant CX1:01:459
95Lance HaidetL39ION of Los Angeles1:01:539
1010Ben FrederickORNOT/TheSmallMonstersProject/R1:02:079
119Caleb SwartzGiant/Neff Cycle Service1:02:439
1219Cody CuppRiders Inc.1:02:469
1318Jules van KempenAlpha Bicycle Company - Groove1:02:479
1427Owen ClarkHomestead Racing1:02:489
1531Ross EllwoodAlpha Bicycle Co. - Groove Silv1:03:049
1615Matteo OppizziCannondale-Iland1:03:069
1725Sam BrownAlpha Bicycle Co. - Groove Silv1:03:099
1843Michael LarsonRed Kite Fund1:03:159
1930Grant Ellwood1:03:239
2013Lief RodgersGiant Canada Off Road Team1:03:259
2155Lucas StierwaltAether Racing1:03:429
2229Tyler CLOUTIERTCCX1:03:509
2344Travis Livermon1:03:519
2456Jack TannerForever Endurance1:03:539
2534Ivan GallegoUSA Cycling Olympic Development1:04:039
2649Mark MylesBe Real Sports1:04:069
2742Nick LandoCompetitive Edge Racing1:04:079
2811Sam NoelCompetitive Edge Racing1:04:089
2939Kyle JohnsonUSA Cycling Olympic Development1:04:089
3048Dillon McNeillTrek Cyclocross Collective1:04:169
3126Nick CarterNorthStar Development1:04:469
3214hugo briseboisride with rendall1:04:509
3328Tyler ClarkHomestead Racing1:04:569
3438Rory JackThe Pony Shop p/b KPMG1:05:049
3560Dylan ZakrajsekKCCX Elite Cyclocross Team1:05:069
3645Ian Lopez de San RomanBear National Cyclocross Team/1:05:079
3740Cody KaiserLangeTwins / Specialized1:05:249
3822Josh BauerAngry Catfish - Endura1:05:259
3952Ryan PoppleThick Bikes / Specialized1:05:259
4041Nate KnowlesMARIAN UNIVERSITY1:05:509
4158Ryder UetrechtMARIAN UNIVERSITY1:05:519
4236Stephen HartzelBreadwinner Cycles1:06:329
4357Eric ThompsonMSPEEDWAX1:06:329
4421Luke ArensMARIAN UNIVERSITY44:19:006
4523Jeremy Bloyd-PeshkinThe Pony Shop p/b KPMG44:20:006
4624Owen BrennemanCXHAIRS DEVO : TREK BIKES44:35:006
4732Luke FeuerhelmKCCX Elite Cyclocross Team45:10:006
4820John Paul AmalongUSA Cycling Olympic Development45:10:006
4950Jake OlanderUSA Cycling Olympic Development45:11:006
5046Brelon MayTopo Designs CC38:01:005
5151Dakota OlsenMove Up38:08:005
5233Thomas FullerLindenwood University38:09:005
5354Allan Schroeder29:17:004
5435Shawn Geiger31:03:004
5559Lee Yarbro31:15:004
DNF7Andrew DillmanRigd-Leitner4
DNF53Terol PursellForever Endurance1
DNF47Ian McDonaldKCCX Elite Cyclocross Team1