Steve Tilford takes the lead in Bend Nationals 2010. ©Kenton Berg

For full coverage, schedules and information on the 2012 Cyclocross National Championships at Badger Prairie County Park in Madison, Wisconsin, visit our 2012 Cyclocross National Championships homepage.

by Evan Schmitt & Chris Bagg

Friday’s racing in Madison will feature full schedule of Masters and Juniors racing. The day begins with the Masters Men 50-54 group. Look for Steve Tilford, Kevin Hines and Ron Huebner to animate the race. Tilford is a 10-time national champion and won in 2010. Hines was second that year and has his own stars and stripes jersey (and Masters Worlds silver) in his trophy case – he will be looking to give Tilford a run for his money.

In the Junior Men 10-12 race, look for Andrew Schmidt, Enzo Allwein and Torin Bickmore to land on the podium. In the Junior Men 13-14 race, expect action from Spencer Petrov, Gage Hecht and Maxx Hall. Hecht is the returning national champion. For the Junior Men 15-16 race, pay attention to Austin Vincent, Peter Goguen and Byron Rice.

In the Junior Women 10-12 race, look for Emma Osborne, Carley Smith and Ella Neurohr. In the Junior Women 13-14 race, look for Mina Anderberg, Hannah Arensman and Skylar Schneider. Anderberg is the returning silver medalist from 2010. In the Junior Women 15-16 race look for Emma White, Laurel Rathbun and Ksenia Lepikhina. White was the 13-14 national champion in 2010. In the Junior Women 17-18 race look for Allison Arensman, Corrie Osborne and Sarah Huang. Osborne was the 15-16 national champion in 2010.

In the Masters Women 30-34 race, look for Andrea Smith, Kari Studley, Amanda Carey and Nicole Thiemann to fight for the jersey. Studley won Wednesday’s Singlespeed race and is the Elite state champion of Washington. Carey was the silver medalist and Smith was the bronze medalist in 2010 in the same Masters Nationals age group. In the Masters Women 35-39 race, pay attention to Sally Annis, Kristal Boni and Jenni Gaertner.