PCR&R Early Edition – Cyclocross National Champs Add More Titles

Pin It

Former US National Collegiate Cyclocross Champion Jamey Driscoll and current Collegiate National Cyclocross Champion Carla Swart each added another national title to their extensive trophy display on Friday at the US Collegiate National Championships in Fort Collins, Colorado. For Swart, it’s another addition to her endless list of National Titles she has won on the Collegiate scene, showing off her mastery of just about everything from ‘cross to track in her career at Lees-McRae College. Driscoll took home a road title to go with his 2007 Collegiate Cyclocross title.

Swart was dominating en route to her victory in the Division 1 women’s road race, with only Harvard’s Anna McLoon (the ECCC A Women’s title holder from 2008) able to hold the Swart wheel. Swart’s attacks were what set up the entire day of racing, and it was Swart’s proven sprint finish that finally disposed of McLoon at the line.

A duo of champions emerged from the Division 1 men’s race as Jamey Driscoll put in a biting attack, that no one could follow, late in the day and proved the fastest man in college, with no one able to close the 44 second gap to the winner. Strong team tactics ruled the day from the University of Vermont as current Collegiate National Cyclocross champion, and Driscoll’s UVM Teammate, Will Dugan emerged out of the field to sprint home for the silver medal.



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.