Wyman spent some time leading the pack early on at BPost in Essen. © Bart Hazen/Cyclocross Magazine

File photo: Helen Wyman, shown here at Essen, took an impressive solo win at Flandriencross. © Bart Hazen/Cyclocross Magazine

Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Team) proved to be best in the slick mud of Hamme, taking the lead early and never looking back to win the third round of the Bpost Bank Trofee series, Flandriencross, over Sanne Cant.

The race got off to a fast start, with the American U23 duo of Ellen Noble (JAM Fund/NCC/Vittoria) and Emma White ( getting to the front of the race and driving the pace. The youthful duo was swallowed up by the pack, which allowed Wyman to strike out with a solo effort.

The slick and off-camber course at Hamme seemed tailor-made to Wyman’s excellent bike handing and running skills, and she quickly distanced her rivals. Behind her, Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) began to chase, eating into Wyman’s advantage slowly but surely.

With two laps to go, as Cant was with a few meters of making contact with Wyman, she suffered a mechanical in a muddy straightaway, and had to take a moment to fix what appeared to be a dropped chain.

This was all of the advantage needed for Wyman to take the win—she seized the opportunity to keep the power down and ride a clean last lap, coming across the line with her first win since the British National Championships.

After chasing the leaders solo all race, fellow Brit Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea) rolled across the line in third.

Check out the Flandriencross Elite Men’s race report to see how Wout van Aert got his revenge on Sven Nys.

2015 Bpost Bank Trofee Series Flandriencross Elite Women's Results

1Helen WYMANGBR3437:15:00
2Sanne CANTBEL2537:23:00
3Nikki HARRISGBR2937:39:00
4Pavla HAVLIKOVACZE3238:20:00
5Ellen VAN LOYBEL3538:28:00
6Sophie DE BOERNED2538:35:00
7Jolien VERSCHUERENBEL2538:44:00
8Loes SELSBEL3039:07:00
9Maud KAPTHEIJNSNED2139:25:00
10Joyce VANDERBEKENBEL3140:17:00
11Femke VAN DEN DRIESSCHEBEL1940:35:00
12Ellen NOBLEUSA2040:43:00
13Bianca VAN DEN HOEKNED3940:52:00
14Karen VERHESTRAETENBEL2441:04:00
15Emma WHITEUSA1841:12:00
16Linda TER BEEKNED2841:52:00
17Cindy BAUWENSBEL4141:52:00
18Lindy VAN ANROOIJNED1941:57:00
19Fleur NAGENGASTNED1742:05:00
20Laura VERDONSCHOTBEL1942:17:00
21Shana MAESBEL2042:23:00
22Nikola NOSKOVACZE1843:37:00
23Fanny STUMPFFRA2143:42:00
24Axelle BELLAERTBEL1844:14:00
25Jara NOèLBEL1644:40:00
26Suzanne VERHOEVENNED1944:47:00
27Meg DE BRUYNEBEL1945:14:00
28Veerle GOOSSENSNED2245:57:00
29Tine VERDEYENBEL2646:24:00
30Anja GELDHOFBEL4246:58:00
31Birgit MASSAGƒBEL2547:18:00
32Svenja W†THRICHSUI1747:21:00
33Michelle SCH€TTISUI16
36Flurina GLAUSSUI18