Sanne Cant with time to celebrate. 2015 Koksijde World Cup Women. © B. Hazen / Cyclocross Magazine

Sanne Cant seen here celebrating her win at the 2015 Koksijde World Cup Women. © B. Hazen / Cyclocross Magazine

ESSEN, Belgium – Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) stole the show at the fourth round of the Bpost Bank Trofee series in Essen, soloing to victory ahead of Thalita De Jong (Rabo Liv Women) who put in an impresssive ride, and Jolien Verschueren (VZW Young Telenet Fidea), who is also showing consistent performances this season.

Cant broke away almost from the get-go after a fast atart from Britain’s Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Team). From there on out it was a race for second place. Pavla Havlakova (MRM-Avalon) and Wyman formed the chase until being absorbed into a larger group in the third lap. Verschueren was next to attempt to close the gap taking Havlakova with her until the Czech rider lost contact by electing to pit on the same lap.

With two laps remaining Sophie de Boer (Kalas-NNOF) and De Jong made contact with Verschueren, 27 seconds behind Cant. With an apparent second wind, De Jong opened a gap leading into the last round, large enough that even with the loss of time from taking a sloppy line and subsequent slow-motion collision with a barrier, she was able to hold on to second place.

De Boer emerged onto the finishing stretch with Verschueren but could not muster enough energy to sprint it out conceding the placing. Havlakova took the fifth spot ahead of Telenet Fidea rider Nikki Harris who started off well but faded from the front of the race as it progressed.

Bpost Bank Trofee Essen: Elite Women’s Brief Results

1. Sanne Cant

2. Thalita De Jong

3. Jolien Verschueren

4. Sophie De Boer

5.Pavla Havlikova

6.Nikki Harris

7. Helen Wyman

8. Ellen Van Loy

9. Femke Van Den Driessche

10. Loes Sels