The Elite Women hit the infamous Koppenberg climb five times and completed four laps in the newly-named Grand Prix Jolien Verschueren race, formerly called the Koppenbergcross.

The race was in memory of the late two-time former winner who died this past summer with complications due to brain cancer.

With just two passes of the steep, cobbled and slippery Koppenberg climb, it was clear that National Champ Clara Honsinger had her climbing legs ready for the European holiday race.

After dispensing early leaders Kata Blanka Vas and Yara Kastelijn, Honsinger had only Denise Betsema up ahead.

By the second time up the climb, only Betsema was in her rearview.

The two put on a show, bumping elbows a few times on descents, but Honsinger was best on the cobbles and dominated the climb to cement her first victory in Europe.

Betsema held on for a hard-earned second.

The riders were unanimous in declaring the weekend a tough one.

American Corey Coogan Cisek, the oldest in the race, beat nearly half the field to finish 27th. Her teammate Allison Arensman finished 40th.

See the full results below, and watch the highlights of the 2021 Koppenbergcross / GP Jolien Verschueren here.

Jolisa Verschueren took part in the race to honor her late sister.

X2O Trofee Oudenaarde - Koppenbergcross 2021 Results: Elite Women

1HONSINGER Clara24Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld51:07:00
2BETSEMA Denise28Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal0:12
3VAS Blanka Kata200:35
4KASTELIJN Yara24IKO - Crelan1:42
5BRAND Lucinda32Baloise Trek Lions2:01
6ALVARADO Ceylin Del Carmen23Alpecin - Fenix2:12
7WORST Annemarie267773:01
8VAN EMPEL Fem19Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal3:19
9CLAUZEL Hélene23A.S. Bike Crossteam3:47
10CLAUZEL Perrine27A.S. Bike Crossteam4:54
11ARZUFFI Alice Maria275:03
12COUZENS Millie185:56
13NORBERT RIBEROLLE Marion22Starcasino CX Team6:23
14FRANCK Alicia27Proximus - AlphaMotorhomes - Doltcini CT6:52
15VAN LOY Ellen417:29
16ONESTI Olivia18Starcasino CX Team8:17
17CRABBÉ Kiona208:42
18TEOCCHI Chiara25Trinity Racing9:22
19DOBBELAERE Jana25Starcasino CX Team9:57
20BASTIAENSSEN Fauve24BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M.10:31
21MELLOR Amira24Team Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus11:06
22OTTESTAD Mie Bjørndal2411:41
23MEISTROK Susanne22Proximus - AlphaMotorhomes - Doltcini CT12:02
24MOORS Fleur1612:28
25CREES Xan21Team Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus12:48
26BROUWERS Julie1914:40
27COOGAN CISEK Corey44Velorevolution WP Cycles
28GORT Femke18BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M.
29DEVIGNE Camille19
30DEFOUR Lara24
32DE GROOT Marieke36
33DHONT Kiona18
34MARASCO Margot16
35GREENHALGH Laura36Velorevolution WP Cycles
38BERTON Nina20
39BREUGELMANS Rosanne23BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M.
40ARENSMAN Allison27Velorevolution WP Cycles
41DE KEERSMAEKER Audrey22Starcasino CX Team
42COOPER Madeline17
44DE ROECK Naomi31
45DE VOS Nele23
46YOUNG Lily18
48MARIEN An-Sofie17