UCI cyclocross in the U.S. moves to the nation’s capital for DCCX this weekend. The 2017 edition will be the 11th running of the event that also doubles as race four of the Super 8 Cyclocross series.

The race is held at the Armed Forces Retirement Home located in the northeast part of Washington D.C. The grounds of the Retirement Home are typically closed to the public, so the race provides a special opportunity for cyclocross riders in the mid-Atlantic states.

The chase group expanded to as many as seven riders while Werner and Timmermam battled for the lead © Mark Colton

DCCX is set on the grounds of the Armed Forces Retirement Home in Washington D.C. © Mark Colton

DCCX is hosted by Crosshairs and the Team DC MTB program. Bill Schieken is the race director and it is a good bet he and the crew at TDDTIE will be providing a full post-race run-down at Crosshairs Radio following the race.

Course Map

The grounds at the Armed Forces Retirement Home feature a combination of steep and rolling hills and the course will also include stairs and man-made barriers.

2017 DCCX Course Map

2017 DCCX Course Map. photo: courtesy

The Racers

The fields for DCCX feature a number of top riders and others looking to break through on the UCI level. Heading up the Women’s field is Arley Kemmerer (Fearless Femme Racing), who first won the race in 2009 and doubled up again in 2010.

Other past winners registered include Cassie Maximenko (Van Dessel Factory Racing), Carla Williams (Joe’s Bike Shop Racing Team) and Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom / Van Dessel).


The front of the women's race only stayed together for one lap, with Arley Kemmerer leading Compton. © Mark Colton

Past winner Arley Kemmerer returns as one of the DCCX favorites. 2016 DCCX. © Mark Colton

Since the Super 8 series is sponsored by, we will go to the Race Predictor for a scientific look at what to expect results-wise this weekend. Women's Race Predictor - 2017 DCCX

1Arley KemmererFearless Femme Racing
2Cassandra MaximenkoVanDessel/Atom Composite Wheels
3Allison ArensmanJ. A. King p/b BR’C
4Jennifer MalikAmerican Classic Pro CX
5Rebecca GrossZero D Racing
6Laura Van GilderMellow Mushroom/Van Dessel
7Carla WilliamsJoe's Bike Shop Racing Team
8Lily WilliamsPony Shop CX Team
9Rachel RubinoFearless Femme Racing
10Avanell SchmitzXXCX p/b Starlight Apparel

For the win, last year’s winner Kerry Werner (Kona Factory Racing) returns to defend his two-day double. Joe Dombrowski (Cannondale Drapac), who won in 2010, joins Werner as the only other returning winner.

Werner and Timerman were locked together for a majority of the race © Mark Colton

Kerry Werner won both days at DCCX in 2016. 2016 DCCX. © Mark Colton predicts Werner as the top rider in the field. Men's Race Predictor - 2017 DCCX

1Kerry WernerKona Factory Racing
2Anthony ClarkSquid Bikes
3Justin LindineApex / NBX / Hyperthreads
4Bjorn SelanderBorah Teamwear
5Tristan CowieTriple Oaks Racing
6Travis LivermonMaxxis/Shimano
7Merwin DavisCycle-Smart Inc.
8Byron RiceStorm Racing Team
9Dan ChabanovHouse Ind - Nokia Health - simplehuman
10Alex RyanMock Orange Bikes


UCI racing takes place both Saturday and Sunday. Start times are the same both days.

  • Women: 3:15 p.m. Eastern
  • Men: 4:15 p.m. Eastern

More info:

Women's Start List - 2017 DCCX

FirstLastHome CityStateTeam
AllisonArensmanBrevardNCJ. A. King p/b BR’C
VickiBarclayState CollegePAStan's Kenda Women
HannahBauerMorgantonNCJ.A. King p/b BR'C
BarbBlakleyNew YorkNYCRCA/KruisCX
BrittLeeBowmanNew YorkNYHouse Ind - Nokia Health - simplehuman
AlexandraBurtonPortlandORPoint S Racing
AlexandraCampbellForteSperryvilleVAVanderkitten Entourage Racing
LindseyCrifasiWashingtonDCTeam Sticky Fingers
TessCunninghamColumbusOHParadise Garage Racing
NicoleDorinziMorgantownWVPro Mountain Outfitters
ShaneFerroBronxNYTwo Seconds Ahead Racing
RebeccaGrossgoldenCOZero D Racing
ArleyKemmererPalmertonPAFearless Femme Racing
JulieKulieczaRichmondVAAll-City | Black Hand
JenniferMalikColumbusOHAmerican Classic Pro CX
PhiliciaMarionMount AiryNCAmerican Classic Pro Cyclocross Team
CassandraMaximenkoWatertownCTVanDessel/Atom Composite Wheels
TarynMudgePhiladelphiaPAFearless Femme Racing
ElisabethReinkordtPhiladelphiaPATeam Laser Cats/Laser Cats Feline All-Stars
RachelRubinoPhiladelphiaPAFearless Femme Racing
AvanellSchmitzNewport NewsVAXXCX p/b Starlight Apparel
LibbeySheldonWashingtonDCCrosshairs Cycling
GabriellaSterneLeesburgVAVanderkitten Entourage Racing
LauraVan GilderCrescoPAMellow Mushroom/Van Dessel
ChelseaWeidingerSan FranciscoCA
CarlaWilliamsRoanokeVAJoe's Bike Shop Racing Team
LilyWilliamsAshevilleNCPony Shop CX Team
EricaZavetaBrevardNCEaston Garneau

Men's Start List - 2017 DCCX

FirstLastHome CityStateTeam
AndrewBaileyPiney FlatsTNCycleWorks
KevinBouchard-HallWestportNYWrenegade Sports/Team Placid Planet
JeremyBurkhardtWashingtonDCC3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.
DanChabanovPhiladelphiaPAHouse Ind - Nokia Health - simplehuman
AnthonyClarkFeeding HillsMASquid Bikes
MatthewClementsFrederickMDRotor Bike Components
TylerCloutierDallasTXTransitions LifeCare p/b Garneau-Easton
PatrickCollinsShrewsburyMAMinuteman Road Club
TristanCowieMills RiverNCTriple Oaks Racing
MerwinDavisBooneNCCycle-Smart Inc.
JoeDombrowskiMarshallVACannondale Drapac
ColinEustisWashingtonDCSons United Racing Team
AndrewGiniatWinnetkaILPony Shop CX Team
JulesGoguelyOgdenUTApex / NBX / Hyperthreads
SamuelKiefferDublinOHRed Kite Coaching
JustinLindineNorth OgdenUTApex / NBX / Hyperthreads
LucasLivermonDurhamNCCrank Arm Cycling
TravisLivermonWinston SalemNCMaxxis/Shimano
AndrewLoaizaPlattsburghNYCyclepath PDX
JustinMauchSterlingVAHerbalife Natures Bakery
ByronRiceDurhamNCStorm Racing Team
AlexRyanLewisvilleNCMock Orange Bikes
GeorgeSchulzAlexandriaVAVan Dessel Factory Team
JordanSnyderRochesterPA@Bicyclerealtor/ERO Verge Sport
PatrickTorpeyBrooklynNYCRCA/To Be Determined
MatthewTylerWarrenNJLaughing Dog Bicycles
JordanVillellaImperialPACycle Smart
KerryWerner Jr.birdsboroPAKona Factory CX Team
AndrewWulfkuhleLancasterPA717cycling p/b RSI Panels