Thanks to Mark Legg, we’ve got some great photos of the women’s race at the Hoogerheide UCI World Cup in the Netherlands on January 20th.

Normally at UCI World Cup Races, Mark Legg, partner of Katie Compton, is running around like crazy to support Katie. At any given moment, he’s wrenching, washing bikes, delivering warm-up or cool-down clothes, and maybe trying to snap a picture or two, if not all of those things at once.

Sadly for Katie, she’s been suffering from what she calls a “muscle tetanus episode” that prevented her from racing last weekend in Hoogerheide, and has her worlds preparation (and perhaps participation) in doubt. But always the optimists, the couple made the best of the weekend, cheering on their fellow Americans, studying the competition, and snapping some great photos for us. Hanka Kupfernagle (Focus) ended up winning over reigning world champ Salvetat (VSLL Castres) from France by over a minute, with Wendy Simms (Kona – YourKey Mortgage) the top North American in 5th. Full results below.

Mouse over the pictures for descriptions of each photo.


Full Results:

1. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Focus
2. Maryline Salvetat (Fra) VSLL Castres
3. Helen Wyman (GBr) Global Racing Team
4. Stephanie Pohl (Ger) Team Getränke-Hoffmann
5. Wendy Simms (Can) Kona-Your Key Mortgage Team
6. Loes Sels (Bel) Vlaanderen – Capri Sonne – T Interim
7. Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel (Ned) Team Flexpoint
8. Pavla Havlikova (Cze) KC Kooperativa SG Jablonec n.N
9. Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) UC Bassin Houiller
10. Veerle Ingels (Bel) AVB/USspa Cycling Team
11. Saskia Elemans (Ned) WV de Meteoor
12. Daphny Van Den Brand (Ned)
13. Caroline Mani (Fra) CR Franche Comté
14. Birgit Hollmann (Ger) Team Getränke-Hoffmann
15. Christelle Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Les Pruneaux D’Agen
16. Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned)
17. Laurence Leboucher (Fra) Sarthe-Gasseau
18. Susanne Juranek (Ger) RSC Oldenburg 1965
19. Sue Butler (USA) River City Bicycles
20. Rachel Lloyd (USA) Proman/Paradigm
21. Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Team DSB Bank
22. Sanne Cant (Bel) ASD Selle Italia Guerciotti
23. Kerry Barnholt (USA) Tokyo Joes/Van Dessel
24. Amy Dombroski (USA) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
25. Wendy Williams (USA) River City Bicycles
26. Abke Francissen (Ned) Team Brabant 2000
27. Arenda Grimberg (Ned) Team Ton van Bemmelen Sports – OdySis
28. Ludivine Henrion (Bel) AA-Drink Cycling Team
29. Gabriella Day (GBr) Global Racing Team
30. Loes Markerink (Ned) Team Flexpoint
31. Elke Riedl (Ned) Restore Cycling
32. Katrien Aerts (Bel) Benelux Team
33. Kelly Jones (Can) Sugoi/Cannondale/Bontrager
34. Mika Ogishima (Jpn) UWTC de Volharding
35. Jasmin Achermann (Swi) VC Rain Toshiba
36. Gertie Willems (Bel) Wielerpromotieclub Jeugdteam
37. Ayako Toyooka (Jpn)
38. Katrien Van Looy (Bel) Vlaanderen – Capri Sonne – T Interim
39. Lise Müller (Swi) Cyclophile Sédunois
40. Christine Vardaros (USA) Team Vanderkitten
41. Masumi Sakai (Jpn)