Sven Nys wins and salutes his bike for the second race in a row. ©

Sven Nys taking a win on his new Trek Boone. ©

LEUVEN, BELGIUM – Sven Nys (Crelan-A Drink) was victorious once again, taking the win at  Soudal Cyclocross Leuven with the decisive move in the final lap.

The race came down to a battle between Nys, Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea), who took second place yesterday at Kasteelcross Zonnebeke and  Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games).

Meeusen put in multiple attacks to splinter the group, but with one lap remaining, the three leaders were still together. Then, while at the front on the bell lap, Meeusen suffered a mechanical, waving Nys and Pauwels around. Nys took advantage of the situation to charge ahead, putting in a five second lead on Pauwels that he held through the finish. Meeusen recovered to hold on to third, 24 seconds down.

Jonathan Page rounded out his returned to European racing this weekend, after finishing sixth at the 2014 US Cyclocross National Championships, with a 17th place finish. Page took 18th yesterday at Kasteelcross Zonnebeke.

In the women’s race,  Marianne Vos (Rabo Liv Women) demonstrated her form going into the World Championships, taking the win over Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP). Niki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea) finished third, 56 seconds down on the leader. American racer Christine Varados finished 14th, one lap down.

2014 Soudal Cyclocross Leuven Elite Men's Results

1Sven Nys1:03:04
2Kevin Pauwels0:00:05
3Tom Meeusen0:00:24
4Philipp Walsleben0:00:27
5Bart Aernouts0:00:29
6Thijs van Amerongen0:00:48
7Julien Taramarcaz0:00:53
8Wout Van Aert0:01:00
9Wietse Bosmans0:01:06
10Dieter Vanthourenhout0:01:37
11Joeri Adams0:01:42
12Rob Peeters0:02:12
13Jim Aernouts0:02:24
14Vincent Baestaens0:03:01
15Sven Vanthourenhout0:03:07
16Mariusz Gil0:03:18
17Jonathan Page0:03:26
18Eddy van IJzendoorn0:03:50
19Javier Ruiz de Larrrinaga0:04:18
20Marcel Meisen0:05:01
21Kenneth Van Compernolle0:05:07
22Yu Takenouchi0:05:31
-1lapJon Intsausti
-2lapsJonas Pedersen
-2lapsNiels Koyen
-3lapsYves Coolen
-4lapsFredrik Edin
-4lapsEdwin De Wit
-4lapsTom Chapman
-4lapsNick Both
-5lapsLuke Gray
DNFKlaas Vantornout
DNFMartin Bina
DNFAlexander Meyland
DNFMartin Eriksson
DNFMagnus Darvell
DNFCalle Friberg
DNFToki Sawada


2014 Soudal Cyclocross Leuven Elite Women's Results

1Marianne Vos0:40:52
2Sanne Cant0:00:42
3Nikki Harris0:00:56
4Loes Sels0:02:49
5Pavla Havlikova0:02:56
6Ellen Van Loy0:03:46
7Jolien Verschueren0:04:09
8Karen Verhestraeten0:04:51
9Asa Maria Erlandsson0:05:17
10Laura Verdonschot0:05:58
11Katrien Thijs (Bel) Kleur Op Maat Cycling Team0:06:23
12Lindy Van Anrooij0:06:28
13Hilde Quintens0:07:14
-1lapChristine Vardaros
-1lapShana Maes
-1lapAyako Toyooka
-1lapMeg De Bruyne
-2lapsBrenda Kazmarczyk
-2lapsMara Schwager
-2lapsMarijke De Pauw
-2lapsLene Vrijsen
-2lapsTine Verdeyen
-2lapsCindy Diericx