The 2007 CrossVegas podium.

The 2007 inaugural CrossVegas Elite women’s podium, with Bessette taking the win… plus Elvis.

Lazer has stepped up their annual participation at Clif® Bar Cross Vegas with sponsorship of the Elite Women’s race. This support equalizes the Elite Women’s and Men’s prize list with over $8,700 across 30 places.

CrossVegas race director Brook Watts expressed delight at Lazer’s move by saying “they’ve been a long time partner of the race and for 2013 they’ve found a way to expand their role in a very positive way.”

Lazer Head Helmeteer Sean van Waes stated “As a Belgian company Lazer has had a long affinity and association with cyclocross as it is one of our “home sports.” We are very happy to see cyclocross continue to grow in the United States and value our opportunity to help make this happen by supporting CrossVegas. We are very happy to equalize the prize list between the elite women’s and men’s events. Lazer is a big supporter of women’s racing and you need only check our list of sponsored teams to see the proof of this. Lotto-Belisol, Cipollini-Giordana, Wiggle-Honda, Topsport-Vlaanderen, Telenet-Fidea, Optum Pro Cycling and the Crank Brothers Race Club team are all excellent examples of women’s teams that Lazer supplies and supports.”

Telenet-Fidea rider Amy Dombroski commented by saying, “Thank you to my long time sponsor Lazer for stepping up at the biggest race in America, CrossVegas and providing equal prize money to women and men. American cycling is making massive strides in a fight for equality, and I can only hope the rest of the cycling world can see the value in this.”

We also heard that veteran ’crosser Lyne Bessette has been coaxed out to race CrossVegas.  “I talked her into it after years of trying to get her back,” Watts explained. “The winner of the 2007 inaugural CrossVegas will still have the goods in my view.  She’s a great punchy rider that can break the rhythm of competitors.”

Will Bessette be a wild card in the women’s race? It’s less than two weeks away, so the countdown has begun!