The Dutch Cycling Federation released its team for the 2020 Dübendorf Cyclocross Worlds on Sunday.

If we are being honest, any intrigue surrounding the announcement was around whether or not Denise Betsema would be selected for the team. The Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal rider returned on Saturday after serving a six-month suspension after testing positive for a banned substance and finished second at Zonnebeke.

Betsema was not selected for the team. According to an article by (translated):

After consultation with national coach [Gerben] De Knegt and KNWU, it was decided not to select Betsema. De Knegt wants peace around the team. He fears that the selection of Betsema and any questions about her doping case may overshadow the run-up to the World Cup.

The Netherlands will be sending a total of 12 Elite riders to Dübendorf. Geerte Hoeke joins the four expected Elite Women—Ceylin Alvarado, Annemarie Worst, Lucinda Brand and Yara Kastelijn.

The Men’s team includes overwhelming favorite Mathieu van der Poel, Lars van der Haar, Corne van Kessel, Joris Nieuwenhuis, David van der Poel, Sieben Wouters and Stan Godrie.

The U23 and Junior Women’s teams will also enter as favorites to win, with defending U23 World Champion Inge van der Heijden leading the Dutch squad in that race and phenoms Shirin van Anrooij and Puck Pieterse racing in the first-ever Junior Women’s Worlds race.

Full rosters are below.

Dutch 2020 Dübendorf World Championships Roster

Elite Women

  • Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado
  • Annemarie Worst
  • Lucinda Brand
  • Yara Kastelijn
  • Geerte Hoeke

Elite Men

  • Mathieu van der Poel
  • Lars van der Haar
  • Corne van Kessel
  • Joris Nieuwenhuis
  • David van der Poel
  • Stan Godrie
  • Sieben Wouters

U23 Women

  • Inge van der Heijden
  • Manon Bakker
  • Aniek van Alphen

U23 Men

  • Ryan Kamp
  • Pim Ronhaar
  • Tim van Dijke
  • Mees Hendrikx
  • Kyle Agterberg

Junior Women

  • Shirin van Anrooij
  • Puck Pieterse
  • Fem van Empel
  • Ilse Pluimers
  • Isa Nomden
  • Senne Knaven

Junior Men

  • Hugo Kars
  • Tibor del Grosso
  • Danny van Lierop
  • Lucas Janssen
  • Bailey Groenendaal

Featured image: Bart Hazen