C-3 has announced their roster for the ’08-09 season, and one name that may surprise many is Laura Van Gilder, a dominant criterium racer. We’ve got an interview with Van Gilder in our upcoming Issue 4. See the full press release below.

C-3, one of the Mid Atlanic’s Strongest Cyclocross teams, looks excitedly forward to the 2008 ‘cross season. The team is lead by returning elite riders Wes Schempf, 2006 Pennsylvania State Champion Andy Wulfkuhle, Beth Mason, Heidi VonTeitenberg, Diane Grim and Elizabeth Harlow. Junior sensation Sam O’Keefe, who took 4th at Nationals last year, will be working for a strong fall season. The team will also feature Elite Master’s riders Chris Nystrom, Jeff Cordisco, Michael Kolb and Kris Auer. Auer also serves as the team director.

New to the team for this year will be nationally renowned criterium specialist Laura Van Gilder. Van Gilder has been a mainstay on the national road and criterium circuit for years. She is an explosive sprinter, and aggressive racer. It is these traits that team director Kris Auer believes will help Van Gilder quickly adapt to this discipline. Also joining the team will be Michael Gallagher, a multiple time US Armed Services National Champion. Gallagher finished 3rd in the MABRA elite series and looks for bigger results in 2008. Graduating from the 2/3 class will be Ethan Townsend, 2007 MAC Killer B Champion Elizabeth Harlow, and 2007 MAC/MABRA Killer B champion Erik Linder. The team will compete up and down the east coast, racing in the USGPs, The MAC and MABRA SERIES , and targeting Nationals in December. The Elite cast will be rounded out be a cast of regional cross racers including Marc and Diane Vettori, Kat Wulfkuhle, Norman Brach, and Rich Bilson.

The team promotes the hugely popular Charm City Cross race, annually one of the most attended events in the Mid Atlantic. Last year’s event drew over 400 riders. The event is annually the kick off for the Mid Atlantic season, and one of the season’s most hotly contested events. is supported by, SRAM, RM SCHMIDT, Under Armor, Joe’s Bike Shop, Giro Helmets, Blue Racing Bikes, Bontrager Componetry, Tiffosi Eyewear, Shimano Shoes, Verge Clothing and The Hostetter Agency.

2008 C-3 Roster

Elite Men
Wes Schempf
Michael Gallagher
Andy Wulfkuhle
Ethan Townsend
Eric Linder
Zach Adams (U-23)

Elite Women
Laura Van Gilder
Diane Grim
Heidi Von Teitenberg
Beth Mason
Elizabeth Harlow
Amy Breyla

Elite Masters
Kris Auer
Jeff Cordisco
Chris Nystrom
Michael Kolb

Sam O’Keefe

Killer B’s
Kat Wulfkuhle
Diane Vettori
Miles Smith
Norman Brach
Jon Hostetter
Marc Vettori
Rich Bilson
Doron Petersan
Scott Olson
Johnny “Anger” May
Christina Briseno
Pete Kennedy