Marianne Vos wins the first international cyclo cross in Rucphen. Bart Hazen

Marianne Vos wins her 14th race of the year in Rucphen. © Bart Hazen

Report and photos by Bart Hazen

Belgian Bart Aernouts took the win at Rucphen Saturday, in The Netherlands. The Rabobankrider attacked in the final lap from a three rider break to win with a few seconds over Mariusz Gil and Tom Meeusen. Gerben de Knegt and U23 World Champion Lars van der Haar rounded off the top five.

From the beginning Aernouts and Meeusen took control of the race followed by Stan Godrie, Gerben de Knegt, Mariusz Gil, Jim Aernouts, Lars van der Haar and Joeri Adams. From the second lap Aernouts and Meeusen broke clear from the others and with two laps to go Gil was the only one able to bridge across.

Aernouts attacked in the final half of the final lap to win with a small margin over Gil and Meeusen.

In the women’s race it was Marianne Vos who took her 14th consecutive win of the season. Vos dominated from almost start to finish and won solo over Daphny van den Brand and Nikki Harris. Reza Hormes and Arenda Grimberg completed the top five.  Christine Vardaros was the top USA rider in 11th position.

Arenda Grimberg took the hole shot followed by Vos, Van den Brand, Harris and Hormes-Ravenstijn. By the end of the first lap Vos attacked and extended her lead by lap. The battle for second was more exciting between Van den Brand and Harris. The decision came in the final lap when Van den Brand took advantage on the technical sections to power away from Harris. For Harris it was her 10th podium of the season.