Nine Masters Women tackled the bumpy, heavy course to compete for the Masters Women 40-44 title at Cantigny Park.

The race was the fourth race on Friday at the 2021 USA Cyclocross National Championships.

Erin Feldhausen opened up a commanding lead on lap two of the four-lap race.

Feldhausen finished second in 2019 in the Masters 35-39, and like Elizabeth Sheldon earlier in the day, moved up a category and moved up a step.

Also moving up an age group was 2018 Masters 35-39 National Champ Holly Lavesser, who also finished second in 2019.

Lavesser and Alexandra Campbellforte were locked in a back-and-forth battle, before Lavesser escaped late to secure second.

Campbellforte gets the Most Improved title, as she finished the 35-39 race in 2019 in 14th.

The race followed the trend of large time gaps and smaller fields compared to 2019. Twenty two racers took the start in 2019 in Lakewood.

Full results below.

Featured photo: Z. Schuster, 2019 Cross Fire Halloween Race.

2021 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals, Cantigny Park, DuPage County Results Masters Women 45-49

1201Melissa BARKERFeedback Sports Racing41:08:004
3207Joanne GROGANBMB Racing42:46:004
4205Melanie CARTERFeedbackSports42:56:004
5202Evie EDWARDSInga Thompson Foundation/Save Womens Sport43:50:004
6208Jennifer NOWLINThe Fix Studio44:32:004
7211Abby WALKERIndustry Nine48:18:004
8203Stephanie SWANPathfinder of West Virginia49:56:004
9213Anne-Marie OSWALDxXx Racing-Athletico36:58:003
10206Jen TILLMANKnobby by Nature36:59:003
11214Jennifer OROZCOPSIMET Racing38:50:003
12212Jacqueline PALFYParallel 44 Racing p/b Sanford POWER41:33:003
DNS210Kim JAYASDBC powered by Spinergy p/b UCCyclery0
DNS209Bonnie SYMESCampus WheelWorks0

Win a CycloPrecisian custom-built frame, Reserve carbon wheels, a Marin Bobcat Trail 5 mountain bike and much more while helping a nonprofit provide transportation to those in need. Check out’s silent auction fundraiser.

See the course preview videos from Cantigny Park, DuPage County, Illinois here

Visit our dedicated 2021 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals page for all of our 2021 National Championships coverage.