SINT-MICHIELSGESTEL, The Netherlands—Mathieu van der Poel returned after a nasty crash and bruised neck suffered at the 2016 Azencross to take his third-straight Dutch Cyclocross National Championships.

Van der Poel, perhaps due to his recent injury or simply knowing his rival Wout van Aert was off to defend his Belgian Championship, displayed an atypical level of patience and conservative racing, following the wheels of Corne van Kessel (Telenet Fidea Lions) and new Sunweb signee U23 star Joris Nieuwenhuis.

Lars van der Haar (Telenet Fidea Lions), also on the comeback trail, chased in fourth, while former World Champ Lars Boom (Lotto Jumbo) never factored.

In the Dutch Championships, the U23 men race in the same event as the Elite, and Nieuwenhuis and Van Kessel took turns at the front trying to keep Van der Poel on the defensive. While it worked for a few laps, Van der Poel eventually made contact, moved to the front, and seized the lead for good.

At the young age of 22, Van der Poel has already won his third Elite National Championship, but hopes to trade the red white and blue jersey for a rainbow-striped jersey later this month.

Behind, Van Kessel led a Telenet-Fidea sweep of the remaining podium positions, while Nieuwenhuis crossed the line in third, but won the U23 title.


Full results from the Dutch championships men’s race below the highlight videos.

2017 Dutch Cyclocross National Championships Highlight Videos – Elite Men:



2017 Dutch Cyclocross National Championships Full Race Video – Elite Men:

2017 Dutch Cyclocross National Championships Results - Elite Men

1Mathieu Van Der PoelNED2258:12:00100
2Corne Van KesselNED2658:32:0060
3Lars Van Der HaarNED2658:40:0040
4David Van Der PoelNED2558:59:0030
5Stan GodrieNED2459:10:0025
6Patrick Van LeeuwenNED321:00:3020
7Gert-Jan BosmanNED251:00:3615
8Lars BoomNED321:01:2310
9Niels WubbenNED291:01:355
10Thijs Van AmerongenNED311:01:533
11Boy Van Poppel
12Douwe Verberne
13Mitchell Huenders
14Bart Bakhuis
15Roderik Egberink
16Joep Van Gennip
17Rowan Bergmans
18Jeroen Janssen
19Vincent Fackeldey
20Joost Van Wijngaarden