SINT-MICHIELSGESTEL, The Netherlands—The comeback queen Marianne Vos (WM3 Pro Cycling) once again proved to be a force to be reckoned with, as she smoked the competition and took home her sixth Dutch National Championship title over the weekend, keeping with the trend we saw in Belgium and in Hartford, Connecticut with living legends winning repeat titles.

Marianne Vos kicked off 2017 with a perfect winning record for her new WM3 Energie Pro Cycling team. 2017 GP Sven Nys - Baal. © C. Jobb / Cyclocross Magazine

Marianne Vos successfully completed step one in her mission to hoard the striped jerseys, winning the 2017 Dutch Cyclocross National Championships. photo: Vos kicked off 2017 with a perfect winning record for her new WM3 Energie Pro Cycling team. 2017 GP Sven Nys – Baal. © C. Jobb / Cyclocross Magazine

Vos was off the front and out of the sights of Lucinda Brand (Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team) and Sophie De Boer (Breepark) for most of her time through the mud-slick and moss-covered course.

Brand and De Boer had a long and heated exchange of places throughout the race, but ultimately Brand pulled ahead to best De Boer, who is sitting second in overall UCI rankings.

The technical corners and off-camber slicks seemed to suit Vos, as she flew through sections that gave other racers trouble. In the end, Vos had over a minute in hand over Brand and might have cemented her name as the top favorite heading into Worlds.

Defending Dutch National Champion and current World Champ Thalita de Jong missed her pedal at the start, was immediately swarmed and was unable to recover from the mishap, as seen in highlight videos below.

De Boer lacked the power that she’s shown in recent races, and admitted to needing some more hard training before Worlds:

Full results from the Dutch championships women’s race below the highlight videos.

2017 Dutch Cyclocross National Championships Highlight Videos – Elite Women:


Keen observers watching the amateur video footage below might note how Marianne Vos leads the field up the first run-up with a step-through dismount, and 3 of the top 11 racers step through as they dismount—a higher percentage than we typically see nowadays at the races. Perhaps Vos is the boss and influences her fellow compatriots with her winning ways and relatively old-school technique?


2017 Dutch Cyclocross National Championships Results - Elite Women

1Marianne VosNED3046:03:00100
2Lucinda BrandNED2847:04:0060
3Sophie De BoerNED2747:17:0040
4Maud KaptheijnsNED2348:04:0030
5Thalita De JongNED2449:11:0025
6Geerte HoekeNED2749:19:0020
7Denise BetsemaNED2449:22:0015
8Monique Van De ReeNED2949:42:0010
9Veerle GoossensNED2450:01:005
10Mascha MulderNED2350:09:003
11Bianca Van Den Hoek
12Reza Ravenstijn-Hormes
13Laura Krans
14Lyan Rensen
15Pauliena Rooijakkers
16Lana Verberne
17Laura Gorter
18Elleke Claessen
19Ingeborg Bremmers
20Judith Van Maanen