DIEGEM, Belgium — Ellen van Loy, one of the professional racers in the women’s field with another career, has reduced her hours working with children and adults with Down’s syndrome this cyclocross season, and the extra rest seems to have paid off.

Telenet-Fidea’s Van Loy won the Niels Albert Cyclo-cross race on November 1, and finished third at the 2015 World Cup in Zolder yesterday.

Today she capped off Saturday’s podium with an impressive wire-to-wire ride to win the 2015 Superprestige Diegem night race.

Ellen van Loy (Telenet - Fidea) was in control from start to finish at the 2015 Superprestige Diegem, just as she did at the 2014 Qiansen Trophy Cyclocross Race in China. © Cyclocross Magazine

Ellen van Loy (Telenet – Fidea) was in control from start to finish at the 2015 Superprestige Diegem, just as she was seen here at the 2014 Qiansen Trophy Cyclocross Race in China. © Cyclocross Magazine

Van Loy wasted no time in seizing control of the race, and with Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) and Eva Lechner (Colnago Südtirol), quickly gapped the rest of the field.

Van Loy’s teammate Nikki Harris and fellow Brit Helen Wyman (Kona) gave chase.

One lap with companions was more than enough for van Loy, and on lap two, she took attacked the mud, sand, stairs and flyover-filled laden course leaving Cant and Lechner.

Behind her, Cant and Wyman continued to chase with Lechner struggling to make contact.

Cant dropped Wyman on the last lap, while Lechner jumped over Wyman to take the final spot on the podium.

Seven Americans finished, with USA Cycling’s Elle Anderson in 11th, Meredith Miller in 17th, Emma White in 19th, Crystal Anthony in 20th, Arley Kemmerer in 26th, and sisters Allison and Hanna Arensman in 34th and 35th.

The crowds were thick and spirited at Diegem, and Wyman, despite racing, took note:

See the reports from the Men’s, U23 and Junior 2015 Superprestige Diegem races here.

2015 Superprestige Diegem Race Results - Women

1VAN LOY EllenBEL3542:50:00
2CANT SanneBEL2543:06:000:16
3LECHNER EvaITA3043:07:000:17
4WYMAN HelenGBR3443:07:000:17
5STULTIENS SabrinaNED2243:17:000:27
6DE JONG ThalitaNED2243:29:000:39
7VERSCHUEREN JolienBEL2543:43:000:53
8HARRIS NikkiGBR2944:41:001:51
9SELS LoesBEL3044:45:001:55
10ARZUFFI Alice MariaITA2144:55:002:05
11ANDERSON ElleUSA2745:01:002:11
12BRANDAU ElisabethGER3045:13:002:23
13VANDERBEKEN JoyceBEL3245:24:002:34
14DYCK MicalCAN3245:33:002:43
15BRAND LucindaNED2645:52:003:02
16PAYTON HannahGBR2145:52:003:02
17MILLER MeredithUSA4245:58:003:08
18VERHESTRAETEN KarenBEL2446:11:003:21
19WHITE EmmaUSA1846:19:003:29
20ANTHONY CrystalUSA3546:30:003:40
21ERLANDSSON AsaSWE4146:39:003:49
22GONZALEZ BLANCO AliciaESP2046:49:003:59
23GONZALEZ BLANCO LuciaESP2546:50:004:00
24BOUTELOUP LaureFRA3546:59:004:09
25VAN DEN HOEK BiancaNED3947:06:004:16
26KEMMERER ArleyUSA3147:15:004:25
27WEERINK FloorNED1747:18:004:28
28BAKKER ManonNED1647:21:004:31
29DELHAYE PaulineFRA2647:36:004:46
30VAN DER BURG EstherNED1747:43:004:53
31MICHIELS GithaBEL3247:49:004:59
32BAUWENS CindyBEL4148:08:005:18
33JACOBS LisaAUS3448:25:005:35
34ARENSMAN AllisonUSA2148:26:005:36
35ARENSMAN HannahUSA1748:33:005:43
36SCHAPPERT AnnaCAN2449:02:006:12
37WADSWORTH EmilyGBR1649:16:006:26
38THIJS KatrienBEL3049:26:006:36
39CALVEZ MaevaFRA1949:28:006:38
40LUKESOVA DenisaCZE1749:38:006:48
41KUIJPERS EvyNED2050:28:007:38
42VALENTINI ElenaITA2350:39:007:49