For full coverage, schedules and information on the 2012 Cyclocross National Championships at Badger Prairie County Park in Madison, Wisconsin, visit our 2012 Cyclocross National Championships homepage.

by Evan Schmitt

In the Masters Men 45-49 expect action from Don Myrah, James Coats and Jon Cariveau. Myrah is the 2010 national champion and will be looking to properly defend his title. Coats was fourth and fifth respectively in 2010 and Cariveau was third in the 40-44 race.

In the Masters Men 40-44 race, Peter Webber, Brandon Dwight and Richard Feldman will be the front-runners. The Boulder Cycle Sport duo of Webber and Dwight took gold and silver respectively in 2010. Feldman is a four-time Cyclocross national champion winning his most recent title in 2006.

In the Junior Men 17-18 race, USGP champion and six-time national champ Logan Owen is the front-runner. His biggest competition will come from 2010’s bronze medalist Drew Dillman. Cypress Gorry was fourth in 2010 and will be an animator as well.

In the Collegiate Women’s Division I race, Kaitlin Antonneau and Coryn Rivera will both represent Marion University but will be fighting each other for the win. Rivera is a multi-time national champion and rides for the Exergy Twenty 12 team on the road. Antonneau has been posting top finishes with a 10th place at the World Cup in Namur and 16th at the World Cup in Zolder. In the Collegiate Women’s Division II race, returning national champion Kimberly Flynn will look for a successful title defense.

In the U23 Men’s race, 2010 silver medalist Zach McDonald is the heavy favorite heading into the race. 2010’s 17-18 national champion Jeff Bahnson will be McDonald’s main competition along with Cody Kaiser and Yannick Eckmann. Eckmann and Kaiser were second and third overall in the USGP series.

In the Masters Men 35-39 race, 2010’s bronze medalist Justin Robinson is the highest finisher to return. Weston Schempf was the 30-34 silver medalist in 2010 and will be looking for success in the older age group.

In the Masters Men 30-34 race, 2010 Masters national champion Matt Pacocha will be looking to successfully defend his title. Jake Wells will be looking to give him a run for his money as Wells has been posting top ten finishes in the Elite field all season long. Wells also went to Euro Cross Camp this year and will come into Madison will some European racing experience.