White takes the win at NBX Day 1 2013. © Todd Prekaski

White takes the win at NBX Day 1 2013. © Todd Prekaski

by Cindy Brennan

Goddard Park in Warwick, Rhode Island was the stage for a full day of exciting racing at the NBX Gran Prix of Cyclocross, where racers raved about the redesigned course. Matt Bodziony and his crew created a fast, technical course, what Emma White ( today called “a thinking race,” involving many of the park’s unique features, including the trademark NBX runs along the beach. As rounds 11 & 12 of the Verge New England Cyclocross Series and rounds 7 & 8 of the Shimano New England Professional Cyclocross Series presented by Verge, and the grand finale in both series, the NBX Gran Prix of Cyclocross is the final battleground for season-long rivalries in eleven categories of racing ranging from cub juniors, amateurs, masters, and elite-level competition.

Emma White was off like a shot as the Elite Women hit the field, flying through the technical twists and rooty ground, tearing through the beach run, and establishing a lead in the first lap. Arley Kemmerer (C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.) and Laura Van Gilder (Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom Pizza) were smart to stick on the wheel of the young racer, as Amanda Carey (Stan’s NoTubes Elite) and Mo Bruno Roy (Bob’s Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles) formed a chase a few seconds back. White and Kemmerer traded attacks in attempts to escape, while Van Gilder, reported to be having shifting woes, tenaciously clung to the group. Meanwhile, Chris Birch (JAM Fund/NCC) bridged to the chase group and proceeded to push its pace, applying pressure with some great riding. With just a third of a lap to go, White attacked on the sandy beach, creating a lead that stuck, as Van Gilder mustered to second. White crossed the finish line first to claim the first UCI victory of what will certainly be many. Van Gilder finished a strong second, and Kemmerer claimed third. Chris Birch came past Bruno Roy in the final stretch, and they placed fourth and fifth.

Emma White is within reach of the U23 Elite Women’s crown in the Shimano New England Professional Cyclocross Series, needing only to be the first U23 across the finish line tomorrow. “I would like to win the series. It’s been my focus this year,” says Van Gilder, who needs to finish well in tomorrow’s race to succeed in her goal.

Lindine took his first win of the season at NBX Day 1 2013. © Todd Prekaski

Lindine took his first win of the season at NBX Day 1 2013. © Todd Prekaski

Mike Garrigan (Van Dessel/Shimano) took the hole shot in the Elite Men’s race, a move he is well known for, but Curtis White (Cannondale p/b was right behind the Canadian, taking the helm the first chance he got. Almost right away, huge gaps formed in the race, with Justin Lindine (Redline/NBX) riding away with White, and Garrigan and Dan Timmerman (House Industries – Richard Sachs) working together a few seconds back. Behind them, a dangerous chase formed: Anthony Clark (JAM Fund/NCC) and Robert Marion (American Classic Pro CX Team) were in the mix, but it was Shawn Milne (Keough Cyclocross) and Raphael Gagne (Rocky Mountain Factory) who were hungering for podium spots the most. The two attacked, closing the gap to Timmerman and Garrigan, but Garrigan and Milne left the others behind in the battle for third. Lindine attacked over and over, trying to leave White behind, only to have White reconnect; however, the pressure of Lindine’s ever-increasing pace was eventually too much. Lindine rode away with the race, turning faster and faster laps, winning over White, and Garrigan claimed third.

Curtis White’s second-place finish today was enough to claim the U23 Men’s jersey in the Shimano New England Professional Cyclocross Series. Raphael Gagne is hopeful to win the Shimano NEPCX Series, but he has just returned from his first break in training since his mountain bike season begun. Both Gagne and Milne have enough points to win the series, but only if one of them wins on day two of NBX.

2013 NBX Grand Prix Elite Men's Results, Day One

1Justin LINDINEUSA1:00:57
2Curtis WHITEUSA1:01:16
3Mike GARRIGANCAN1:01:18
4Shawn MILNEUSA1:01:55
6Raphael GAGNECAN1:02:33
7Christian FAVATAUSA1:02:35
8Robert MARIONUSA1:02:42
9Brendan RHIMUSA1:03:21
10Adam MYERSONUSA1:03:29
11Jake WELLSUSA1:03:31
12Matt TIMMERMANUSA1:03:48
13Sam O'KEEFEUSA1:03:52
14Joshua DILLONUSA1:03:54
15Anthony CLARKUSA1:04:00
16Derrick ST JOHNCAN1:04:27
17Daniel CHABANOVUSA1:04:44
18Edwin BULLUSA1:04:52
19Nicholas KEOUGHUSA1:05:17
20Jean-Philippe THIBAULT-ROBERGECAN1:05:32
21Max JUDELSONUSA1:05:48
22Adam ST. GERMAINUSA1:05:52
23Michael WISSELLUSA1:06:36
24Charles SCHUBERTUSA1:06:42
25Evan MURPHYUSA1:06:51
26Evan HUFFUSA1:06:54
27Sheldon MILLERUSA1:07:03
28Tyler WRENUSA1:07:09
29Andrew LOAIZAUSA1:07:17
30Aaron OAKESUSA1:07:35
31Matthew MEANSUSA1:07:49
32Kurt BELHUMEURUSA1:08:12
33Devin WAGNERUSA1:08:14
36Colin REUTERUSA1:09:00
37Jules GOGUELYUSA1:09:06
38Alec HOOVERUSA1:09:12
39Jarrod FORREST1:09:13
40Evan COOPERUSA1:09:51
41Nathan BROWNUSA1:10:08
42Matthew SOUSAUSA
45Joseph NEARUSA

2013 NBX Grand Prix Elite Women's Results, Day One

1Emma WHITEUSA42:40:00
2Laura VAN GILDERUSA42:42:00
3Arley KEMMERERUSA43:03:00
4Christina BIRCHUSA43:21:00
5Maureen BRUNO ROYUSA43:21:00
6Amanda CAREYUSA43:24:00
7Natasha ELLIOTTCAN43:30:00
8Cassandra MAXIMENKOUSA43:35:00
9Kathleen LYSAKOWSKIUSA43:41:00
10Jenny IVESUSA43:50:00
11Ellen NOBLEUSA43:57:00
12Julie LAFRENIERECAN44:12:00
13Brittlee BOWMANUSA44:40:00
14Catherine STERLINGUSA44:43:00
15Lori COOKEUSA45:31:00
16Nicole PISANIUSA45:57:00
17Joanne GROGANUSA46:00:00
18Rebecca FAHRINGERUSA46:02:00
19Julie HUNTERUSA46:08:00
20Victoria GATESUSA46:10:00
21Frances MORRISONUSA46:43:00
22Melody CHASEUSA46:50:00
23Jessie DUPPLERUSA47:18:00
24Jauron VETTERUSA47:27:00
25Melissa SEIBUSA47:28:00
26Katerine NORTHCOTTUSA47:31:00
27Erin FACCONEUSA47:49:00
28Christine FORTUSA48:35:00
29Emily PHILLIPSUSA48:49:00
30Melissa LAFLEURUSA48:55:00
31Stephanie THOMPSONUSA50:27:00
32Kerry LITKAUSA51:59:00