Three in a row for Werner in D1 Collegiate Nationals. © Steve Anderson

Three in a row for Werner in D1 Collegiate Nationals. © Steve Anderson

Kerry Werner of Lees-McRae made it three in a row with his win in the D1 Collegiate National race this morning in the steadily dipping temperatures in Boulder.

Dylan Postier of Oklahoma State took the holeshot in the race, but within minutes, Werner had taken over the lead as the group headed up the stairs. Behind him, Kevin Fish of the University of Texas (Austin) and Drew Dillman of Marian (the first rider in the winning Collegiate Relay team) stuck to his wheel, with Samuel Morrison (University of Colorado-Boulder) and Alexander Martin (University of Wisconsin-Madison) close behind.

“I wanted to put the pressure on early because I have the Elite race this afternoon and I figured if I did that, I could ride at my own pace for the rest of the race,” Werner explained. “I didn’t want to sit in and let the other guys battle it out since it’s technical.”

Within a lap, Werner and Dillman had established a solid gap. Behind, Martin, Morrison and Fish formed a chase group with Skyler Trujillo of Fort Lewis heading up the large chase group behind.

“Dillman was on me, and the wind was definitely a factor,” Werner explained. “There wasn’t much mud, it was all pretty dry with tacky corners. It’s pretty bumpy and hard.”

A few small bobbles from Dillman allowed Werner to extend his lead, and Fish and Martin separated from Morrison. Behind them, Kolby Preble (Fort Lewis) and Josh Johnson (Marian) lead an eight-man chase group.

“This is my third race of the week,” Dillman explained. “I wanted to give Werner a little more competition but a few mistakes early on separated him from me.” He had two small crashes in the first lap, which allowed Werner to make the separation early.

With one to go, Werner’s gap was well-established, as was Dillman’s control of second place, but third place was clearly turning into a two-man sprint. Behind them, a group of six led by Johnson chased and made slight gains on the two, but it was Fish who would end up taking the sprint for third, while Werner handily took the win and Dillman came in for second.

Results after gallery.

Werner Takes Third D1 Collegiate Men’s Win at the 2014 National Cyclocross Championships – Gallery by Steve Anderson

D1 Collegiate Men Full Results 2014 US Cyclocross Nationals

1304WERNERKerryLees-McRae College
2141DILLMANAndrewMarian University
3144FISHKevinThe University of Texas at Aust
4163MARTINAlexanderUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
5313FEEHERYBrandonLindenwood University
6154JOHNSONJoshuaMarian University
7302TRUJILLOSkylerFort Lewis College
8138CUPPCodyFort Lewis College
9172PREBLEKolbyFort Lewis College
10134BUESCHChristianOregon State University
11166MORRISONSamuelUniversity of Colorado Boulder
12147HURSTTannerCumberland University
13126ACKERMANNMaxwellUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
14309HALEYLukeLindenwood University
15198STANDISHRyanFort Lewis College
16136CARLSONZacharyMarian University
17146SMITHStephenNorth Carolina State University
18308HILDEBRANDTCaseyLindenwood University
19174SHAFERBrendanFort Lewis College
20153HUBBARDMilesAppalachian State University
21199STOVERBenjaminUniversity of Kansas
22173SAMPSONMichaelFort Lewis College
23197STALKERBenFort Lewis College
24171POSTIERDylanOklahoma State University
25175SMALLCoryUniversity of Vermont
26311DUTCZAKMichaelUniversity of Illinois at Chica
27169PHILLIPSCodyLees-McRae College
28306YOHEDavidMarian University
29159LABECKINathanMarian University
30196SOTEBEERKeeganUniversity of Colorado Boulder
31164MAURERDillenUniversity of California-Santa
32128BENDERZachMarian University
33148LUKERLoganCumberland University
34151HORSLEYBryanUniversity of Colorado Boulder
35312BODHANEZachColorado State University
36129BERGEYGunnarLees-McRae College
37143EVANSJustinAppalachian State University
38135BURGESSKevinLees-McRae College
39152HOWARDForrestAppalachian State University
40310GRINBERGSIvarsUniversity of Colorado Boulder
41161MALLORYAUniversity of Washington-Seattl
42131BLACKBURNTrentLees-McRae College
43155JONESTylerFort Lewis College
44168NOONANJohnUniversity of Colorado Boulder
45305WHITEDustinUniversity of Florida
46139DAMPHOUSSESamUniversity of Vermont
47137CONRADFORRESTUniversity of Vermont
48315CARLSONErickColorado State University
49158KNUTSONDylanLees-McRae College
50149OLESONReeceCumberland University
51157KEOGHQuinnUniversity of Arizona
52303VELEVVesselinNorthwestern University
53162MANCUSOCamLees-McRae College
54142DOBROZSISamuelLees-McRae College
55314GILLIAMgunnerLindenwood University
56127BEEMERLukeMarian University
57301STREMPKEAndrewUniversity of Kansas
58133BRISTOLJustinUniversity of South Carolina-Co
59316FATUROSAndrewColorado State University
60132BRIGMANRobertUniversity of Kansas
61167MURPHYFordNortheastern University
62145FLICKGrantUniversity of Minnesota-Twin Ci
63150SCHUBERTThomasCumberland University
64165MIDKIFFJasonAppalachian State University
65156KELLERAndrewUniversity of Arizona
DNF307HOOPINGARNERJonathanMarian University

For all the best Cyclocross Nationals 2014 coverage, including bike profiles, race reports, results and video interviews, check out our 2014 Cyclocross National Championship Page here.