Daphny van den Brand took the win at Hamme Zogge. © Bart Hazen

Daphny van den Brand took the win at Hamme Zogge. © Bart Hazen

by David Evans

Daphny van den Brand (AA attacked from a group of six in the last lap of the women’s race to take the win. She managed to build her lead to 21 seconds in the last seven minutes of racing, a testament to her form and her suitability for tight and fast courses such as Hamme-Zogge.

The lead group had separated itself from the rest of the field within the first two laps of the race. After testing her legs in the second lap, van den Brand clearly was biding her time before launching herself off the front just before a technical section.

19-year-old Frenchwoman Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (AC Bazancourt) won the sprint for best of the rest, a just reward for an otherwise fruitless attack early in the race.

American Amy Dombroski (Crank Brothers Race Club) scored another top 10 result, finishing just 1:20 down on the winner in ninth place.

Cyclocross Magazine columnist Christine Vardaros, who finished right in the middle of the field in 15th, had this to say about the race: “It thankfully went better for me today than the previous races.  But what was most encouraging today was easily the crowds that showed for such a crazy early event where we rode at 10:45 a.m. before the Juniors.  Once again, the Superprestige couldn’t bother to put our event right before the elite men as they do in the GvA Trofee and FIDEA events.”

Read about the men’s race here.

Results after gallery.

Bart Hazen’s Gallery:

Full Results: Elite Women

Hamme-Zogge Women 2011

1Daphny VAN DEN BRANDNED3440:35:00
2Pauline FERRAND PREVOTFRA2040:53:00
3Sanne CANTBEL2240:53:00
4Sabrina STULTIENSNED1940:53:00
5Sophie DE BOERNED2240:53:00
6Nikki HARRISGBR2641:18:00
7Ellen VAN LOYBEL3241:51:00
8Joyce VANDERBEKENBEL2841:51:00
9Amy DOMBROSKIUSA2541:55:00
10Tessa VAN NIEUWPOORTNED2142:10:00
11Nikoline HANSENDEN2542:35:00
12Hilde QUINTENSBEL4842:35:00
13Annefleur KALVENHAARNED1842:47:00
14Nicole DE BIE - LEYTENBEL3743:39:00
15Christine VARDAROSUSA4343:41:00
16Kim VAN DE STEENEBEL2644:37:00
17Ilona METERNED3444:42:00
18Shana MAESBEL1744:49:00
19Margriet Helena KLOPPENBURGDEN2444:53:00
20Susanne JURANEKGER3745:16:00
21Liv-Susanne BACHMANNGER3345:54:00
22Caren COMMISSARISBEL1846:51:00
23Anja BUYSSEBEL4347:22:00
24Vicki THOMASCAN4047:41:00
25Katrien THIJSBEL27
27Marijke DE PAUWBEL22
28Caitlyn LA HAYEBEL19