Proof positive that a race isn’t over until crossing the finish line, a seemingly en-route-to-victory Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus) was struck with mechanical misfortune by way of a broken derailleur hanger at the fourth BPost Bank Trofee race in Essen.

Ready to pounce on van der Poel’s misfortune, the chasing group of Sven Nys (Crelan AA-Drink) and Wout van Aert (Vastgoedservice Golden Palace) quickly became the leaders, and as at Koksijde, duked it out until the last turn.

Take a look at the video highlights, and be sure to read our BPost Bank Trofee Essen race report to get a play-by-play of the action.