Zdeněk Štybar (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) got his first win of the season on Saturday at the C2 Versluys Cyclocross in Bredene, Belgium.

The race came down to last lap attacks, with Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea) making a solo bid for the win, dropping his four companions in Štybar, Dieter Vanthourenhout (BKCP-Powerplus), Lubomir Petrus (BKCP-Powerplus) and Joeri Adams (Telenet-Fidea).

Moments later, the Czech National Champion gave chase, rejoining Peeters and outsprinting down the finishing straight.

Zdenek Stybar at the front of the 2013 Heusden-Zolder World Cup. © Cyclocross Magazine

Zdenek Stybar has quickly returned to the front of the pack this season. Seen here at the 2013 Heusden-Zolder World Cup. © Cyclocross Magazine

“This is a very nice race, which is why this event has long entered in my diary,” said Stybar, after taking the win at the 2013 Versluys Cyclocross event.

The win was the 28-year-old Štybar’s first victory in what has been only a short four-race cyclocross season. He’ll contest his fifth race tomorrow at the Superprestige race in Diegem.

“I am a bit surprised but really happy about this victory as it is important to me,” Štybar said to media after his win. “I would like to thank the supporters who were here at this race…It’s always nice to come back to this scene and get good results.”

Peeters was optimistic with his chances of taking the win on the last lap, but Tweeted that he was wary of the Czech’s sprinting ability should it come down to a sprint.

Although the race lacked many of the top cyclocrossers, including Niels Albert, Sven Nys and Lars van der Haar, it was successful outing for American Jonathan Page (Fuji-Spy-Competitive Cyclist), who finished just one minute behind Štybar, in sixth, his best placing since leaving the States. Page originally was doubting whether he’d start the Verluys race, after a hard crash yesterday in Loenhout, but was pleased with the result given the circumstances:

Jonathan Page, racing in Namur. © Cyclocross Magazine

Jonathan Page was sixth in Bredene. Shown here after Namur. © Cyclocross Magazine

Page was one of two Americans contesting the race in Bredene, with Jeremy Durrin (Optum Pro Cycling) finishing in 21st.

The race was quickly a race between the top five racers, with two Czech racers in Styby and Petrus, and three Belgians. Page was left to chase the leading group of five, but would not make contact.

Štybar took an impressive third at the Zolder World Cup, and fifth at the bpost Bank Trofee Azencross race in Loenhout, putting an impressive aerial display in the process.

With such impressive, early results, everyone wants to know if Štybar will be racing the World Championships in Hoogerheide this season, where he finished second at the 2009 Worlds. “That is still far away,” Stybar said. “I’m going to make a decision at the last moment. But participation in the World Championships should not undermine my preparation for the road season.”

Full Versluys Cyclocross in Bredene results below.

Notes: By winning the race, Stybar gets a brand new Vespa scooter as one of his prizes (see below). The race also held non-UCI neiuwelingen and junior races earlier in the day. Niels Albert was advertised to be racing, but did not race.

2013 Versluys Cyclocross in Bredene Results - Elite Men

1Zdenek STYBARCZE281:01:0740
2Rob PEETERSBEL281:01:0730
3Dieter VANTHOURENHOUTBEL281:01:2520
4Lubomir PETRUSCZE231:01:3115
5Joeri ADAMSBEL241:01:4210
6Jonathan PAGEUSA371:02:008
7Robert GAVENDASVK251:02:086
8Vincent BAESTAENSBEL241:02:264
9Martin HARINGSVK271:02:392
10Stijn HUYSBEL271:02:411
12Ben BERDENBEL381:03:05
13Sven BEELENBEL231:03:11
14Bart HOFMANBEL281:03:24
15Jelle BRACKMANBEL241:03:40
16Vinnie BRAETBEL221:03:40
18Kenneth VAN COMPERNOLLEBEL251:04:09
19Bart VERSCHUERENBEL271:04:21
20Steven DE DECKERBEL311:04:25
21Jeremy DURRINUSA251:04:27
22Pieter GHYLLEBERTBEL311:04:34
23Antonin MARECAILLEFRA211:04:39
24Jeffrey MELLEMANSBEL211:04:49
25Jelle WALLAYSBEL241:05:26
26Stef CLAEYSBEL181:05:43
27Christoph AMBROZIAKGER301:05:45
28Maxime VANTOMMEBEL271:05:45
29Yannick MAYERGER221:05:53
30Severin SAEGESSERSUI211:06:25
31Ondrej GLAJZASVK191:06:44
32Alexander REVELLNZL281:06:56
33Joseph FOXGBR191:07:51
34Robert GLAJZASVK42
36Christophe CAVAZZANAFRA32